Extended Audio Sample

Download The Gallery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Gallery, by Laura Marx Fitzgerald Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Laura Marx Fitzgerald Narrator: Jorjeana Marie Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A riveting historical art mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Westing Game, set in the Roaring Twenties

It’s 1929, and twelve-year-old Martha has no choice but to work as a maid in the New York City mansion of the wealthy Sewell family. But, despite the Gatsby-like parties and trimmings of success, she suspects something might be deeply wrong in the household—specifically with Rose Sewell, the formerly vivacious lady of the house who now refuses to leave her room. The other servants say Rose is crazy, but scrappy, strong-willed Martha thinks there’s more to the story—and that the paintings in the Sewell’s gallery contain a hidden message detailing the truth. But in a house filled with secrets, nothing is quite what it seems, and no one is who they say. Can Martha follow the clues, decipher the code, and solve the mystery of what is really going on with Rose Sewell?

Inspired by true events described in a fascinating author’s note, The Gallery is a 1920s caper told with humor and spunk that readers today will love.

Download and start listening now!

bst5

Quotes & Awards

  • “This lively and inventive mystery successfully incorporates history, art, and literary classics…Readers will certainly be swept up by Martha’s pluck and the mystery’s many layers.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “A solid, fast-moving mystery for historical fiction fans, with nods to art history and mythology.”

    School Library Journal

  • “Martha is a scrappy, amiable narrator, and readers will be just as invested as she is in seeing that all the wrongs in this household are finally righted.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

  • “Art and history inform this puzzle of a novel, with Jane Eyre, Sacco and Vanzetti, the dying art of vaudeville, chemistry, and the 1929 stock market crashes all playing roles.”

    Horn Book Guide

  • “Young teens will enjoy [Martha’s] impertinence and determination, and may not even notice that they are learning a little bit about the Sacco and Vanzetti trial and the 1928 presidential election, as well as the stock market crash of 1929.”

    VOYA

  • “Narrator Jorjeana Marie quickly transports listeners to New York City in 1928. Martha[‘s]…inquisitive nature, voiced by Marie in a rush and full-stop rhythm, adds to the tension as she secretly investigates the mystery behind the mad wife who is locked away upstairs. Marie delivers Mrs. O’Doyle’s voice in equal parts exasperation and reverence…The trapped Mrs. Sewell is portrayed in hoarse, desperate gasps, which contrast well with the cool tones of her husband and the frantic thoughts of Martha, who fears that the worst is on the horizon.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations