Extended Audio Sample

Download The Fall of Fergal: The First Unlikely Exploit Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Fall of Fergal: The First Unlikely Exploit (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Philip Ardagh
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (167 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Philip Ardagh Narrator: Joe Barrett Publisher: Listening Library Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2004 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Philip Ardagh's Unlikely Exploits chart the extraordinary changes in fortune of the downtrodden McNally family beginning with The Fall of Fergal. The setting is an unidentified country suffering from an unexpected breakout of large holes.

The McNally children find themselves in The Dell Hotel, the venue for the final of the Tap 'n' Type typing competition, surrounded by a strange assortment of characters ranging from Twinkle-Toes Tweedy, the house detective, to Mr. Peach, a ventriloquist with a very large moustache.

With young Fergal McNally falling to his death at the very beginning, the only way for the McNallys is up.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000137

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Morty4 | 1/14/2014

    " Can I just say: Awesome. Unless you're offended by people making light of death, in which case this book probably isn't for you. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rachel | 12/31/2013

    " This book is really funny! I loved it. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Caroline | 12/24/2013

    " A fun enough book, but it wasn't interesting enough to stick with this series at all. Still, kids would probably get a kick out of it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Doralyn | 11/30/2013

    " Funny little book. I wasn't a huge fan of the ending because it seems a bit absurd (the book is clever enough on its own without adding anything paranormal). But obviously, the author is a fan of the absurd. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Summer | 11/24/2013

    " Too much like A Series of Unfortunate Events. Very similar writing style. Copycat? "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jamarius Sams | 11/19/2013

    " I think this book is very good for anyone above the age of 14 years old .It describes in details and in intense ways. I like it and i think that all people should read thus book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stacey | 3/19/2013

    " These are fun and kind of remind me of Roald Dahl books. Very short and funny and quirky. I can't wait to read the next one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hor Ying | 1/11/2013

    " This book is quite good and entertaining, though there isn't a lot of things happening. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amanda Ridge | 9/6/2012

    " I read this to see if it would be appropriate for my daughter. In the end, I decided against sharing this with my child. There were some parts that were quite entertaining, but I must say that overall, the humor wasn't quite to my liking. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Emily | 8/27/2012

    " My first exposure to dark humor for kids. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joan | 5/12/2012

    " My 8yo loved this as a bedtime story, she wants me to find the next book in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Infinite Playlist | 3/16/2012

    " Typically Ardagh. Cheeky, funny, heart-warming, original and very darkly humoured. The ending made me very curious about book 2. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tia | 12/28/2011

    " AAAAAAAAAAMMMMMAAAAAAAAAAAZZZZIIINNGGGGGG!!!!! READ IT, TOTALLY!!!! CRAZY BOOK!!!! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Peter Millett | 12/15/2011

    " This book has the darkest, most bizarre opening of all time. It's like Monty Python for kids. Parents watch out - Fergal is falling! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kirsten | 12/5/2011

    " A fun kids' novel in the tradition of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, although possibly not quite of the same calibre.. I enjoyed it, but I probably won't actively seek out the sequels, unless I happen to see them at the library. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ally Kwok | 11/9/2011

    " This book is really funny!!! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Liv | 6/28/2011

    " The most boring book I've ever read , I can't even be bothered to go into detail about it . "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melinda | 11/27/2010

    " My son chose to listen to this one on the way to Disneyland and it was a pretty fun book until the very, very end was a little odd, but the writer is obviously quirky and kind of fun. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Joan | 10/6/2010

    " My 8yo loved this as a bedtime story, she wants me to find the next book in the series. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stacey | 5/13/2010

    " These are fun and kind of remind me of Roald Dahl books. Very short and funny and quirky. I can't wait to read the next one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hor Ying | 3/9/2010

    " This book is quite good and entertaining, though there isn't a lot of things happening. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melinda | 1/14/2010

    " My son chose to listen to this one on the way to Disneyland and it was a pretty fun book until the very, very end was a little odd, but the writer is obviously quirky and kind of fun. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tia | 5/11/2009

    " AAAAAAAAAAMMMMMAAAAAAAAAAAZZZZIIINNGGGGGG!!!!! READ IT, TOTALLY!!!! CRAZY BOOK!!!! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Doralyn | 10/14/2008

    " Funny little book. I wasn't a huge fan of the ending because it seems a bit absurd (the book is clever enough on its own without adding anything paranormal). But obviously, the author is a fan of the absurd. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rachel | 6/19/2008

    " This book is really funny! I loved it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Infinite Playlist | 6/18/2008

    " Typically Ardagh. Cheeky, funny, heart-warming, original and very darkly humoured. The ending made me very curious about book 2. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kirsten | 3/15/2008

    "
    A fun kids' novel in the tradition of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, although possibly not quite of the same calibre.. I enjoyed it, but I probably won't actively seek out the sequels, unless I happen to see them at the library. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Philip ArdaghWhen not writing silly books, Philip Ardagh is very serious indeed and frowns a great deal. He also sports a pair of those little round glasses brainy people often wear. His books sell worldwide and his mother loves him.
About the Narrator

Joe Barrett has appeared both on and off Broadway as well as in hundreds of radio and television commercials. He has earned eighteen AudioFile Earphones Awards and has been nominated for the prestigious Audie Award. He has narrated books by such authors as Trevanian, Brian Freeman, Don Winslow, and James W. Huston.