The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain Audiobook, by Annie Murphy Paul Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain Audiobook

The Extended Mind: The Power of Thinking Outside the Brain Audiobook, by Annie Murphy Paul Play Audiobook Sample
Currently Unavailable
This audiobook is no longer available through the publisher and we don't know if or when it will become available again. Please check out similar audiobooks below, and click the "Vote this up!" button to let us know you're interested in this title. This audiobook has 12 votes
Author: Annie Murphy Paul Narrator: Annie Murphy Paul Publisher: HarperAudio Audio Length: Release Date: June 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780358611516

Publisher Description

A New York Times Editors' Choice A Washington Post Best Nonfiction Book of 2021 A New York Times Notable Book A bold new book reveals how we can tap the intelligence that exists beyond our brains—in our bodies, our surroundings, and our relationships Use your head.   That’s what we tell ourselves when facing a tricky problem or a difficult project. But a growing body of research indicates that we’ve got it exactly backwards. What we need to do, says acclaimed science writer Annie Murphy Paul, is think outside the brain. A host of “extra-neural” resources—the feelings and movements of our bodies, the physical spaces in which we learn and work, and the minds of those around us— can help us focus more intently, comprehend more deeply, and create more imaginatively.   The Extended Mind outlines the research behind this exciting new vision of human ability, exploring the findings of neuroscientists, cognitive scientists, psychologists, and examining the practices of educators, managers, and leaders who are already reaping the benefits of thinking outside the brain. She excavates the untold history of how artists, scientists, and authors—from Jackson Pollock to Jonas Salk to Robert Caro—have used mental extensions to solve problems, make discoveries, and create new works. In the tradition of Howard Gardner’s Frames of Mind or Daniel Goleman’s Emotional IntelligenceThe Extended Mind offers a dramatic new view of how our minds work, full of practical advice on how we can all think better.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Demystifies how our most important thinking often happens outside our heads.”

    - Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Fascinating, sure-footed, and wide-ranging.”

    - Wall Street Journal
  • “Paul’s knack for finding real-world scenarios to illustrate scientific ideas makes this pop and lends much credence to the theory.”

    - Publishers Weekly

Awards

  • An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick
  • A New York Times Notable Book of the Year
  • A Washington Post Best Book of 2021

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!