Extended Audio Sample

Download The End of Everything: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The End of Everything: A Novel, by Megan Abbott Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Megan Abbott Narrator: Emily Bauer Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Thirteen-year-old Lizzie Hood and her next-door neighbor Evie Verver are inseparable, best friends who swap clothes, bathing suits, and field-hockey sticks and between whom—presumably—there are no secrets. Then one afternoon, Evie disappears, and as a rabid, giddy panic spreads through the balmy suburban community, everyone turns to Lizzie for answers. Was Evie unhappy, troubled, or upset? Had she mentioned being followed? Would she have gotten into the car of a stranger?

Compelled by curiosity, Lizzie takes up her own furtive pursuit of the truth. Haunted by dreams of her lost friend and titillated by her own new power at the center of the disappearance, Lizzie uncovers secret after secret and begins to wonder if she knew anything at all about her best friend.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004419

Quotes & Awards

  • “This is a gripping and disturbing novel, a fever dream of adolescent desire and adult complicity. Megan Abbott writes with total authority and an almost desperate intensity; her story grabs hold of you and won’t let go.”

    Tom Perrotta, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson will welcome Abbott’s haunting psychological thriller set in what appears to be pre–cell phone suburban America…Abbott expertly captures the nuances of lost innocence and childhood friendships, without ever losing an undercurrent of menace.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Edgar Award winner Abbott offers a fascinating twist on the coming-of-age story, blending a tale of young women just discovering their sexuality with suspense and plenty of plot twists."

    Library Journal

  • “Abbott, well-known as a hard-edged noir author, has crafted a unique mystery lush with sensory details.”

    Booklist

  • A 2011 Publishers Weekly Best Book: Mystery/Thriller
  • Selected for the August 2011 Indie Next List
  • A 2012 Anthony Award Nominee for Best Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Hilary | 7/19/2011

    " I'm a longtime fan of Megan Abbott's, and THE END OF EVERYTHING is very different from her previous work. But the writing has the same intense, hypnotic quality that I first fell in love with when I discovered Abbott's work, and I absolutely loved this book too. Highly recommended! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Abby | 7/16/2011

    " This one got s big build up for me, but came up a bit short. I Think it will do well. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Holly | 7/15/2011

    " Parts of this book literally took my breath away. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Carol | 7/12/2011

    " This book was not as good as I thought it would be! Kind of a disappointment. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations