Extended Audio Sample

Download The Devourers Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Devourers Audiobook, by Indra Das Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Indra Das Narrator: Meera Simhan, Shishir Kurup Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2016 ISBN: 9780451483249
Regular Price: $22.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

For readers of Neil Gaiman, Margaret Atwood, China Miéville, and David Mitchell comes a striking debut novel by a storyteller of keen insight and captivating imagination.

On a cool evening in Kolkata, India, beneath a full moon, as the whirling rhythms of traveling musicians fill the night, college professor Alok encounters a mysterious stranger with a bizarre confession and an extraordinary story. Tantalized by the man’s unfinished tale, Alok will do anything to hear its completion. So Alok agrees, at the stranger’s behest, to transcribe a collection of battered notebooks, weathered parchments, and once-living skins.

From these documents spills the chronicle of a race of people at once more than human yet kin to beasts, ruled by instincts and desires blood-deep and ages-old. The tale features a rough wanderer in seventeenth-century Mughal India who finds himself irrevocably drawn to a defiant woman—and destined to be torn asunder by two clashing worlds. With every passing chapter of beauty and brutality, Alok’s interest in the stranger grows and evolves into something darker and more urgent.

Shifting dreamlike between present and past with intoxicating language, visceral action, compelling characters, and stark emotion, The Devourers offers a listening experience quite unlike any other novel.

Download and start listening now!

bta1

Quotes & Awards

  • “A chilling, gorgeous saga that spans several centuries and many lands…The all-too-human characters—including the nonhuman ones—and the dreamlike, recursive plot serve to entrance the reader.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “[An] extraordinary piece of metafiction: stories within stories…transgenre, transgender and transgressive…[A] remarkable, multilayered novel.”

    Maclean’s

  • “The Devourers…showcases Das’ incredible prowess with language and rhythm and his ability to weave folklore and ancient legend with modern day loneliness.”

    Tor.com

  • “Narrator Shishir Kurup does a masterful job differentiating between Alok, the slightly nerdy and somewhat shy history professor, and the stranger, a dangerous and smouldering enigma…[When] the character Cyrah is introduced, Meera Simhan narrates this portion of the story, and she perfectly captures Cyrah’s confusion, rage, and ambivalence at the events that sweep her up. This audiobook will not be to everyone’s taste, as it straddles the line between fantasy and horror, but those it does appeal to will be richly rewarded. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • “A sensual tale of violence and desire…but with a fascinating setting beautifully described.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Das’ brutal, intoxicating, and gorgeously visceral debut merges an often mythic sensibility with an appreciation for the coarse beauty of the everyday.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Das’ narrative is lush, imaginative, and hypnotic, bringing to life scenes of savagery and moments of wonder…An ambitious, unsettling trip into our own capacity for violence.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Told through transcription, flashbacks, and beautiful language, this novel subverts the typical werewolf story to weave an elaborate narrative built on history and mythology, creating an impressive and gripping work of fantasy…A lyrical and unique offering that may entice more sophisticated readers, this unusual work will likely be beyond the scope of most teens.”

    School Library Journal

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A Washington Post Best Book of 2016
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Indra Das is an Octavia E. Butler Scholar and graduate of the 2012 Clarion West Writers Workshop. He completed his MFA at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, where he wore many hats, including freelance editor, writing tutor, occasional illustrator, environmental newswriter, and dog-hotel night-shift attendant. His short fiction has been published in many fiction magazines and anthologies. The Devourers is his first published novel. He divides his time between India and North America and is hard at work on his next novel.
About the Narrators

Meera Simhan is a film and stage actress who was born in England and raised in San Diego. Her first lead film role was as Linda Jones in Date Movie in 2006. Since then she has appeared in a number of films and television shows, including Iron Man, Law & Order, The Young and the Restless, and The Mentalist.

Shishir Ravindran Kurup is an Indian-born American actor. He played Dr. Singh on the sci-fi series Surface, and also had roles on the series Heroes, Lost, and True Blood