The Cross and the Beatitudes Audiobook, by Fulton J. Sheen Play Audiobook Sample

The Cross and the Beatitudes Audiobook

The Cross and the Beatitudes Audiobook, by Fulton J. Sheen Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Larry Peterson Publisher: Mockingbird Press Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 1.17 hours at 1.5x Speed 0.88 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: July 2022 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781684931316

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

16:32 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

12 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

10:18 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Fulton J. Sheen: > View All...

Publisher Description

The Cross and the Beatitudes (1937) is a short volume by Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen. Priest, philosopher, theologian, and educator, the Archbishop worked tirelessly to spread the word of Jesus Christ and to help those looking for clarity and inner peace in their lives and souls. Well-traveled and highly educated, Archbishop Sheen had a gift for making the complexities of the Scriptures clear without ever talking down to his audience. He used this gift in many capacities throughout his life: as a priest and bishop; as an educator at the Catholic University of America; and on radio and television where he had several wildly successful programs on theology and religion. His show Life is Worth Living ran from 1952 to 1957 and won him an Emmy Award for Most Outstanding Television Personality. Archbishop Sheen also wrote dozens of books during his life, at a pace of one or two per year. The Cross and the Beatitudes is one of his earlier works, first published in 1937. This special book draws a parallel between the first seven Beatitudes and Christ's final Seven Words. The Beatitudes are the blessings and instructions given forth by Jesus Christ at the Sermon on the Mount, which all begin "Blessed are." There are in fact eight Beatitudes, but Archbishop Sheen views the final as "confirmation and a declaration of all those that precede," in the words of St. Thomas Aquinas. The final Seven Words are the few sentences and phrases that Jesus Christ spoke while on the Cross. Assigning a chapter to each pairing of early Beatitude and final Word, Archbishop Sheen shows how Christ spoke the Word early in His Ministry, lived according to the Beatitudes throughout His life, and stayed faithful to their precepts on the Cross. As the Archbishop writes, "Our Lord began His Public Life on the Mount of the Beatitudes and closed it on the Mount of Calvary." And as this book shows us, his messages remained consistent throughout.

Download and start listening now!

The Cross and the Beatitudes Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!