Extended Audio Sample

Download The Calligrapher's Daughter: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Calligraphers Daughter: A Novel, by Eugenia Kim Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,565 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Eugenia Kim Narrator: Lorna Raver Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

A sweeping debut novel, inspired by the life of the author’s mother, about a young woman who dares to fight for a brighter future in occupied Korea

In early-twentieth-century Korea, Najin Han, the privileged daughter of a calligrapher, longs to choose her own destiny. Smart and headstrong, she is encouraged by her mother—but her stern father is determined to maintain tradition, especially as the Japanese steadily gain control of his beloved country. When he seeks to marry Najin into an aristocratic family, her mother defies generations of obedient wives and instead sends her to serve in the king’s court as a companion to a young princess. But the king is soon assassinated, and the centuries-old dynastic culture comes to its end.

In the shadow of the dying monarchy, Najin begins a journey through increasing oppression that will forever change her world. As she desperately seeks to continue her education, will the unexpected love she finds along the way be enough to sustain her through the violence and subjugation her country continues to face?

Spanning thirty years, The Calligrapher’s Daughter is a richly drawn novel in the tradition of Lisa See and Amy Tan about a country torn between ancient customs and modern possibilities, a family ultimately united by love, and a woman who never gives up her search for freedom.

Download and start listening now!

beb0

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Kate | 2/19/2014

    " Beautiful writing. Lets the reader in on historical events that most Americans are not aware of. I love it when I can learn history through the eyes of a character I am attached to. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jan | 2/14/2014

    " This tale of a young girl coming of age in Korea during the time of the revolution was a good history lesson. I learned a lot and once again am very grateful to live in this time and place!!! It is a very interesting picture of the role of women in Korea. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Sarah Novlan | 2/5/2014

    " This is a MUST read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Julie Anderson | 2/4/2014

    " If I ever learned about Korea's history, I don't remember it. I've heard of the Korean War, but nothing before that. What a life this lady lead. It made me feel spoiled and selfish. I was surprised how many things are similar to the Japanese women. They still cover their mouths when they laugh and are still less important than a man or his wants. Things changed a lot during her lifetime, but I'm glad I don't have to be a lesser being to a man. Wow, lots of food for thought. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Eugenia Kim

Eugenia Kim is the daughter of Korean immigrant parents who came to America shortly after the Pacific War. She has published short stories and essays in journals and anthologies, including Echoes upon Echoes: New Korean American Writings, and is an MFA graduate of Bennington College. She lives in Washington, DC, with her husband and son.