The Bright Lands: A Novel Audiobook, by John Fram Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Bright Lands: A Novel Audiobook

The Bright Lands: A Novel Audiobook, by John Fram Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
Author: John Fram Narrator: Luis Selgas Publisher: Harlequin Audio Audio Length: Release Date: July 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781488208447

Publisher Description

When a quarterback goes missing, a small Texas town faces an unexpected threat in this high-stakes debut for fans of Stephen King and Twin Peaks.

A supernatural thriller that combines page-turning suspense with hair-raising chills, for fans of Megan Abbott, Stephen King and Dan Simmons.

The town of Bentley holds two things dear: its football, and its secrets. But when star quarterback Dylan Whitley goes missing, an unremitting fear grips this remote corner of Texas.

Dylan’s disappearance brings his disgraced older brother, Joel, back home to a place he thought he’d left behind for good. Meanwhile, Sheriff’s Deputy Starsha Clark never left Bentley; Joel’s return brings back painful memories—not to mention questions—about her own missing brother. And in the high school hallways, Dylan’s friends begin to suspect that their classmates know far more than they’re telling the police. Together, these unlikely allies will stir up secrets their town has long tried to ignore, discovering a horror darker than they could have ever imagined and a force that won’t be satisfied with just one vanished boy.

Shocking, twisty and relentlessly suspenseful, John Fram’s debut is a heart-pounding story about old secrets, modern anxieties and the price young men pay for glory.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “John Fram’s The Bright Lands is darker than you think. Fram begins with a Friday Night Lights supernatural mystery, then lures the reader into an insidious labyrinth of human cruelty, voracious supernatural evil, and startling malice. Unsettling, and compelling as hell.”

    - Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author
  • “The Bright Lands is Gothic and Faulknerian: smooth, original, haunting. And very sexy.”

    - Edmund White, author of A Boy’s Own Story
  • “Absolutely enthralling. Written with the rhythm of the game Fram writes of. A mystery to get the skin crawling even as you unbury the secrets of those trying to solve it. Despite its nature, there is a warmth to this thriller, and you’ll feel like you’ve come home…a home that still haunts you.”

    - Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Fram has delivered a powerhouse of a debut that is certain to be one of the year’s most bracing thrillers. Unapologetic in its queerness, cruelty and heart, The Bright Lands will sink its teeth into you.”

    - P. J. Vernon, author of When You Find Me

Awards

  • A BookPage Top Pick of the Month

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Narrator

Megan Tusing is an actress, known for The Beginning and the End, The Share, and Odd Jobs. She has a bachelor’s degree in theatre from James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Virginia.