Extended Audio Sample

Download The Bookman's Tale: A Novel of Obsession Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Bookmans Tale: A Novel of Obsession, by Charlie Lovett Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Charlie Lovett Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.50 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Guaranteed to capture the hearts of everyone who truly loves books, The Bookman’s Tale is a former bookseller’s sparkling novel and a delightful exploration of one of literature’s most tantalizing mysteries with echoes of Shadow of the Wind and A. S. Byatt’s Possession.

Hay-on-Wye, 1995. Peter Byerly isn’t sure what drew him into this particular bookshop. Nine months earlier, the death of his beloved wife, Amanda, had left him shattered. The young antiquarian bookseller relocated from North Carolina to the English countryside, hoping to rediscover the joy he once took in collecting and restoring rare books. But upon opening an eighteenth-century study of Shakespeare forgeries, Peter is shocked when a portrait of Amanda tumbles out of its pages. Of course, it isn’t really her. The watercolor is clearly Victorian. Yet the resemblance is uncanny, and Peter becomes obsessed with learning the picture’s origins.

As he follows the trail back first to the Victorian era and then to Shakespeare’s time, Peter communes with Amanda’s spirit, learns the truth about his own past, and discovers a book that might definitively prove Shakespeare was, indeed, the author of all his plays.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_002146

Quotes & Awards

  • The Bookman’s Tale is three stories in one…and Charlie Lovett moves deftly….You can’t stop reading until you find out what happens. Charleston Post & Courier
  • “With The Bookman’s Tale, Charlie Lovett tells us a terrific story—there’s mystery and suspense, murder and seduction—but more important, he shows us how it’s all connected, all of this: the reading and the keeping and the sharing of books.”

    Robin Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore

  • “A gripping literary mystery that is compulsively readable until the thrilling end.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “A pleasurably escapist trans-Atlantic mystery is intricately layered with plots, murders, feuds, romances, forgeries—and antiquarian book dealing.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Fans of mysteries, of love stories, and of rare books will all find moments in Lovett’s novel to treasure.”

    Booklist

  • With THE BOOKMAN’S TALE, Charlie Lovett tells us a terrific story—there’s mystery and suspense, murder and seduction—but more important, he shows us how it’s all connected, all of this: the reading and the keeping and the sharing of books. It forms a chain long and strange enough to tie a heartbroken young scholar from North Carolina back to the Bard himself, who might or might not have been William Shakespeare. Every link along the way is a bookman’s tale all its own, and Lovett tells them all, except the very last, of course: because that’s you, about to read this book right now. Robin Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore
  • Lovett’s novel, THE BOOKMAN’S TALE, is a marvelous new Shakespearean mystery: an intelligent thriller that is also a love song for books and the people who relish them. Lovett knows his stuff about Shakespeare, rare books, and the passions that both inspire, and he weaves from these a delicious tale of love, loss, and the thrill of discovery. It kept me turning pages till the wee hours for days. The only disappointment was that it came to an end. Jennifer Lee Carrell, author of Interred with Their Bones
  • Lovett tells his story with ease, charm and a faith in his characters that eventually draws them into our sympathies. USA Today
  • [A] delightful tale of love and bibliophilia. Parade 
  • [A] suspenseful romp spanning centuries and continents and peppered with romance, skulduggery, forgery and murder, all driven by one of the enduring questions of literary scholarship. Washington Post
  • . . .A gripping literary mystery that is compulsively readable until the thrilling end. For fans of Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book, Shakespeare aficionados, and bibliophiles. Library Journal (Starred)
  • A pleasurably escapist trans-Atlantic mystery is intricately layered with plots, murders, feuds, romances, forgeries—and antiquarian book dealing. Kirkus
  • Fans of mysteries, of love stories, and of rare books will all find moments in Lovett’s novel to treasure. Booklist
  • [A]n immensely satisfying and plesurable read that combines a range of genres and above all else, celebrates the beauty and wonder of the literary word. SeattlePI.com
  • Lovett's tale sparkles with seasoned storytelling. The Mountain Times
  • I don't read much fiction. I'm picky.  But I loved racing through Charlie Lovett's The Bookman's Tale, a richly rewarding thriller filled with real-world details about the discovery of a rare book that may or may not be a priceless Shakespearean artifact. Fun for everyone who's ever fondled a soft leather binding! DANIEL SINGER, founder, Reduced Shakespeare Company and co-author of The Complete Works of William Shakespeare (Abridged)
  • The Bard is back in this rollicking literary mystery….This novel has something for everyone: William Shakespeare, a love story, murder and even a secret tunnel. Star Tribune
  • “Da Vinci Code–like sleuthing into the works of Shakespeare and sliding back to the bard’s time. Library Journal
  • A Bookman’s Tale has plenty of richness to offer….Daring intricacy. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution
  • A treat. New York Journal of Books
  • All too good to resist….The Bookman’s Tale is a book about books, written for lovers of books. The Fayetteville Observer
  • Roguish booksellers, feuding nobles and unexpected plot twists. The Asheville Citizen-Times
  • [A] charismatic tale about the rare book world and history come to life….Like a gigantic hug to all book lovers. MinnesotaReads.com
  • A 2014 Barry Award Nominee for Best First Novel
  • A New York Times Bestseller
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations