Extended Audio Sample

Download The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europe's Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Book Thieves: The Nazi Looting of Europes Libraries and the Race to Return a Literary Inheritance Audiobook, by Anders Rydell Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Anders Rydell Narrator: Kaleo Griffith Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2017 ISBN: 9781524752002
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

"A most valuable book." —Christian Science Monitor

For readers of The Monuments Men and The Hare with Amber Eyes, the story of the Nazis' systematic pillaging of Europe's libraries, and the small team of heroic librarians now working to return the stolen books to their rightful owners.

While the Nazi party was being condemned by much of the world for burning books, they were already hard at work perpetrating an even greater literary crime. Through extensive new research that included records saved by the Monuments Men themselves—Anders Rydell tells the untold story of Nazi book theft, as he himself joins the effort to return the stolen books. When the Nazi soldiers ransacked Europe’s libraries and bookshops, large and small, the books they stole were not burned. Instead, the Nazis began to compile a library of their own that they could use to wage an intellectual war on literature and history. In this secret war, the libraries of Jews, Communists, Liberal politicians, LGBT activists, Catholics, Freemasons, and many other opposition groups were appropriated for Nazi research, and used as an intellectual weapon against their owners. But when the war was over, most of the books were never returned. Instead many found their way into the public library system, where they remain to this day.

Now, Rydell finds himself entrusted with one of these stolen volumes, setting out to return it to its rightful owner. It was passed to him by the small team of heroic librarians who have begun the monumental task of combing through Berlin’s public libraries to identify the looted books and reunite them with the families of their original owners. For those who lost relatives in the Holocaust, these books are often the only remaining possession of their relatives they have ever held. And as Rydell travels to return the volume he was given, he shows just how much a single book can mean to those who own it. Download and start listening now!

c2ld

Quotes & Awards

  • “A chilling reminder of Hitler’s twisted power.”

    BBC

  • “Rydell’s passion for the subject is undeniable. Serving as a courier, he manages to convey the emotional power of returning even a single book to a grateful descendant who has lost so much else.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “Reader friendly and a riveting account, the book deserves a large readership.”

    Jewish Book Council

  • “A most valuable book.”

    Christian Science Monitor

  • “Looting books by mainly Jewish owners, collections, and libraries was an effective way of stealing Jewish memory and history, as this thorough work of research by Swedish journalist and editor Rydell attests…An engrossing, haunting journey for biliophiles and World War II historians alike.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Narrator Kaleo Griffith gives listeners a sense of events that started with intimidation and progressed into a campaign of murder…At times, Griffith lets shock, at the scope of the plundering, creep into his voice. He also gets into the mind of Rydell as he describes the various missing books, many of which eventually ended up in Berlin’s public libraries before being recovered.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Anders Rydell is a journalist, editor, and author of nonfiction. As the head of culture at a major Swedish media group, he directs the coverage of arts and culture in fourteen newspapers. His two books on the Nazis, The Book Thieves and The Looters, have been translated into sixteen languages.

Henning Koch was born in Sweden but has spent most of his life in England, Spain, and Sardinia. Most recently he translated A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman. He has also written a short-story collection, Love Doesn’t Work, and a novel, The Maggot People.

About the Narrator

Kaleo Griffith is an Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator and classically trained actor. He graduated cum laude from Franklin Pierce University with a BA in theater, holds an MFA in acting from Rutgers University, and is a graduate of the American Academy of Dramatic Arts. He has appeared in such television series as Law & Order and Reggie’s Family & Friends, among others.