Extended Audio Sample

Download The Book of the Maidservant Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Book of the Maidservant, by Rebecca Barnhouse Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (316 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Rebecca Barnhouse Narrator: Rebecca Barnhouse, Susan Duerden Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Johanna is a servant girl to Dame Margery Kempe, a renowned medieval holy woman. Dame Margery feels the suffering the Virgin Mary felt for her son but cares little for the misery she sees every day. When she announces that Johanna will accompany her on a pilgrimage to Rome, the suffering truly begins. After walking all day, Johanna must fetch water, wash clothes, and cook for the entire party of pilgrims. Then arguing breaks out between Dame Margery and the other travelers, and Johanna is caught in the middle. As the fighting escalates, Dame Margery turns her back on the whole group, including Johanna. Abandoned in a foreign land where she doesn’t even speak the language, the young maidservant must find her own way to Rome.

Inspired by the fifteenth-century text The Book of Margery Kempe, the first autobiography in English, debut novelist Rebecca Barnhouse chronicles Johanna’s painful journey through fear, anger, and physical hardship to ultimate redemption.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_001089

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Courtney | 2/18/2014

    " I felt like this was more of a list than a story. Dry and not particularly stimulating read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Hallie | 2/14/2014

    " Very enjoyable story of Dame Margery Kemp's maidservant, who was dragged along with her mistress on pilgrimage (and the *most* disorganised shambles of a pilgrimage!) to Rome and then abandoned. I'm coming to think I love the YA stories of medieval pilgrimages particularly, and reading this makes me a) want to find out what happened to Johanna next and b) reread Gatty's Tale and The Ramsey Scallop. At least. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Lisa | 2/2/2014

    " Listend to this book on CD. It is a historical novel based on the true accounts of Dame Margery Kemp's pilgrimage in the 15th century, told through the eyes of her maidservant. I quite enjoyed this book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Hayley | 1/30/2014

    " Readalikes: anything by Karen Cushman "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations