Extended Audio Sample

Download The Book of Joe Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Book of Joe, by Jonathan Tropper Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (6,192 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jonathan Tropper Narrator: Scott Bric Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Right after high school, Joe Goffman left sleepy Bush Falls, Connecticut,  and never looked back. Then he wrote a novel savaging everything in town, a novel that became a national bestseller and a huge hit movie. Fifteen years later, Joe is struggling to avoid the sophomore slump with his next novel when he gets a call: his father’s had a stroke, so it’s back to Bush Falls for the town’s most famous pariah. His brother avoids him, his former classmates beat him up, and the members of the book club just hurl their copies of Bush Falls at his house. But with the help of some old friends, Joe discovers that coming home isn’t all bad—and that maybe the best things in life are second chances.

Fans of Nick Horny and Jennifer Weiner will love this book, by turns howling funny, fiercely intelligent, and achingly poignant. As evidenced by The Book of Joe’s success in both the foreign and movie markets, Jonathan Tropper has created a compelling, incredibly resonant story.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A beautifully crafted book of enormous heart, humility, wit, honesty, and vulnerability. You want to call your friends at 3:00 a.m. and read whole passages out loud. You want to press it into the hands of strangers. You cannot stop thinking about it because it has rearranged your very molecules. You know that kind of book? This is that kind of book. The Book of Joe is utterly magnificent. I wish I’d written it myself.”

    Augusten Burroughs, New York Times bestselling author of Running with Scissors

  • The Book of Joe is an elegiac, wickedly observant look at a small town and its secrets. In Jonathan Tropper’s highly readable novel, the problem isn’t that you can’t go home again, it’s that eventually you have to, whether you like it or not.”

    Tom Perrotta, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A sweet, deft and sentimental coming-of-age-at-thirty-four story…[Tropper’s] humor keeps his tale buoyant.”

    New York Daily News

  • The Book of Joe will make you laugh and cry. Tropper has a very readable style, and Joe is a character you can connect with, warts and all.”

    Associated Press

  • “Frequent pop culture references, particularly to Bruce Springsteen, help move things along briskly.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “In spite of his hero’s serious problems, Tropper keeps Joe’s narration self-deprecatingly funny throughout…And as Joe struggles to reconcile himself to his past, the novel proves surprisingly poignant, even tender. A first-rate tale of a thirtysomething’s belated coming-of-age.”


Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Paddy | 2/6/2014

    " Male version of contemporary chick lit depicting snarky protagonists. I should create a shelf for books I've read only because my library's audio book selections are so limited. I've read much worse popular novels. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Abby Lasky | 2/1/2014

    " IF you haven't read a Jonathan Tropper book yet, you should. He is totally hilarious. Although I read two books, and both pretty much had the same type of characters and plot line, both of them amused me and were great reads. This story is one we probably all would like to see happen. A guy leaves his home town to become rich and famous, only to return to loathed and reviled! I also read This is Where I Leave You by Jonathon Tropper, also dealing with a guy having a midlife crisis and returning to his hometown when his father dies. Both will shock you, sadden you, and make you laugh along the way. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Snotchocheez | 1/29/2014

    " "The Book of Joe" reminded me much of my own life as it has progressed from high school to present (I am 42 at this writing). The plot centers on a novelist (with only one book, although it's a successful Peyton Place-esque novel based on his former home town) and his return back to his home town after his father suffers a near-fatal stroke. While I'm not a writer, I found myself identifying with much Tropper had to say about the protagonist's not being able to fit in with the mainstream, which really struck a chord with me. I recommend this book to anyone who feels or who has felt out of touch with the rest of the world...which (if we'd just admit it) would be just about all of us. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Anne Kadet | 1/28/2014

    " An extra star for the worst metaphors in history "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations