Extended Audio Sample

Download The Bone Seeker Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Bone Seeker, by M. J. McGrath Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: M. J. McGrath Narrator: Kate Reading Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Edie Kiglatuk Mysteries Release Date:
Regular Price: $22.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The intrepid Edie Kiglatuk discovers one of her female students dead in a toxic Arctic lake.

In the third novel in this highly praised mystery series that will appeal to fans of The Killing, Top of the Lake, and The Bridge, Edie Kiglatuk is working as a summer school teacher in the Canadian Arctic. When one of her female students is found dead in nearby Lake Turngaluk, Edie enlists the help of Sergeant Derek Palliser to pursue the case, promising the girl’s Inuit family that they will uncover the truth. Meanwhile, lawyer Sonia Gutierrez investigates the toxicity of the lake and suspects that there might be a larger conspiracy involved. As the three clamber over rocky terrain under twenty-four-hour daylight, they start to unearth secrets long frozen over—risking their own lives in the process.

With stunning prose, M. J. McGrath delivers another thrill ride through a hauntingly beautiful landscape.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The third in the acclaimed Edie Kiglatuk series, which stars Kiglatuk, a teacher, half Inuit, half outsider, who solves mysteries with a canny blend of psychological and cultural knowledge…Filled with cultural tensions, gorgeous Arctic spring scenery, and pulsing suspense.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “The murder of a teenager rocks a remote settlement in Canada’s high Arctic…The chills McGrath’s third Edie entry sends down your spine will rival those brought on by any Nunavut winter.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “A summer teaching job takes Edie Kiglatuk to Kuujuaq, a Canadian Arctic village, in McGrath’s unsettling third mystery featuring the Arctic guide…McGrath effectively evokes the spare Arctic landscape and brings life to the people who have inhabited it for generations.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Kate Reading has a rich and compelling voice…Reading can draw listeners into almost any story, and she does a particularly good job here. She’s taken the time to master the Inuit phrases and names that pepper McGrath’s narrative. Most important, she convincingly conveys Edie’s thoughts and the sorrows and hopes of an Arctic people buffeted by the demands of the world ‘in the south.’”


  • “The setting, Ellesmere Island in the Canadian Arctic, is the real star here, providing a detailed glimpse into a harsh arctic summer and the tensions between the native Inuits and the qalunaats from the south. McGrath uses the remoteness of the landscape to great effect, creating several suspenseful set pieces out of characters' navigation of the unforgiving terrain and their inability just to leave town quickly…For fans of Dana Stabenow’s Kate Shugak series as well as readers who enjoy writers such as George Pelecanos and Giles Blunt, who create a strong sense of place in their mysteries.”

    Library Journal

  • Longlisted for the 2015 CWA Gold Dagger Award
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations