Extended Audio Sample

Download The Blood Spilt Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Blood Spilt Audiobook, by Åsa Larsson Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,781 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Åsa Larsson Narrator: Hillary Huber Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Rebecka Martinsson Series Release Date: January 2006 ISBN: 9781455186730
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From the author of Sun Storm comes this disturbing, entrancing, beautifully crafted mystery, winner of Sweden’s Best Crime Novel award and an international sensation.

It’s midsummer in Sweden, when the light lingers through dawn as the long winter finally ends. In this magical time, a brutal killer strikes, and the murder of a female priest sends shock waves through the community.

With no cause to get involved, attorney Rebecka Martinsson cannot help herself. And the further she is drawn into a mystery that will soon claim another victim, the more the dead woman’s world consumes her, a world of hurt and healing, sin and sexuality, and above all, of lethal sacrifice.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_002115

Quotes & Awards

  • “Fans of Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum and Arnaldur Indridason will be rewarded.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The plot is as dark as a winter solstice. Larsson’s genius is her ability to enter the deranged criminal mind…The bleakness of the Swedish psyche is laid bare, and it is not a pretty thing.”

    AudioFile

  • “Larsson…delivers plenty of suspense, but her real gift lies in her ability to climb inside the minds of her characters, analyzing their motivations for doing damage and good.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “A virtuoso mood piece that works endless changes on its unforgiving landscape.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lisa Lewis | 2/19/2014

    " This is the second book in an interesting series by this author, a Swedish crime fiction writer. I enjoyed it in some ways better than the first, maybe due to the poetic inclusion of scenes from the point of view of a wolf who plays a small role in the story. Unfortunately, the primary character of the first book, Rebecka Martinsson, plays a smaller role in this book and seems such a pathetic character, I found myself wishing at times that the author could have been a little kinder to her. The pace of character and relationship development in both books suggest that the author plans to continue the series for some time. I'm in. For now, anyway. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Linnaea | 2/12/2014

    " A great use of daylight and latitude as a character. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julie Siegel | 2/9/2014

    " I'm a sucker for the northern Swedish locale, but ever more so, this (her second of three translated into English so far)was immediate, has depth and reverberates. Looking forward to the next. My cover (low Scandinavian sun on ice, Bantam/Dell)much better! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 John | 2/1/2014

    " good story though it had a lot of moving parts. some key people were not developed enough and other bit part players had too much information about them. this made it hard to keep track of everything and when the killer is revealed, you do not feel you know enough about him/her. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Afsheen | 1/16/2014

    " This book is well written, I liked the plot and cant wait to start on the next on "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Denise | 12/2/2013

    " Zzzzzz. Maybe you had to read the first one? The only thing I really liked about this book was that one of the characters had a female dog with the same name as a girl I used to know who was mean to me. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jill | 11/21/2013

    " Never know what to expect with this series always goes in a direction opposite to what you think is going to happen. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Judith | 11/20/2013

    " Doesn't build up momentum, nor does it have a satisfactory ending. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laurel | 5/28/2013

    " Second book I've read by this author - she's amazing! The reader is right there with the characters in small-town Sweden, and cares about them...and doesn't have a clue who the bad guys are until the very end! A great crime novel series. Can't wait to grab the next one! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Roxanne | 5/27/2013

    " Scandinavian - excellent sense of place - characters excellent. Great story. Recommend ! Much better than #1 in the series - and it is not necessary to read the first one before this one at all. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 11/29/2012

    " I was disappointed with this novel. You'd think that if something was translated into another language, that it would be a little bit better. Very anti-climactic at the end. And the whole wolf aspect was very pointless. Not impressed!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Suzanne | 7/10/2012

    " I enjoyed entering the world of a small town in Sweden. It is a police procedural mystery but full of rich characters and setting. This book is the 2nd of a series and I can't wait to read the 1st book (having already read the 3rd). "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Laura Hoffman Brauman | 4/11/2012

    " Loved this one. Sometimes in translation, a book loses something --not in this case. The writing was incredible -- very vivid imagery, evocative. It was as much a psychological drama as it was a mystery -- and one with so many layers. Larsson is an incredibly talented author. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Chloe40 | 12/12/2011

    " Great Read... Totally captures the reader "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Linda Thibert | 9/23/2011

    " I enjoyed the first book in this series more. This one is a little bizarre. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Elaine | 8/15/2011

    " I read "Sun Storm" ( this author's first book) about a month ago and really liked it. This book is better in my opinion. Very Swedish and atmospheric. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary Sindlinger | 6/1/2011

    " It was slow going until I hit the first twist, then it was a who done it, but the motivation was vague, which was a good point because you could draw your own conclusions. It was out of the comfort sone again, with the Sweedish setting, but the wolf flavor was great symbolism. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Emma | 4/10/2011

    " A nice read and a good continuation. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Carmen | 2/12/2011

    " I love Krimis! Especially ones written first in another language and that take place in other countries... like this one in Iceland! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nataly | 12/7/2010

    " I liked the first book better. I found this book pretty slow, only the last few pages were adrenaline-pumped.
    Also the ending was very sad but this is not a complain, just an observation. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lee | 11/10/2010

    " Swedish summer and murder with a wonderful and very wounded hero. Interesting exploration of how people around react to what has happened to her with lots of blaming the victim. Well filled out secondary characters and relationships. Lovely and deeply-rooted sense of place. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 10/5/2010

    " It was slow going until I hit the first twist, then it was a who done it, but the motivation was vague, which was a good point because you could draw your own conclusions. It was out of the comfort sone again, with the Sweedish setting, but the wolf flavor was great symbolism. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 John | 9/27/2010

    " good story though it had a lot of moving parts. some key people were not developed enough and other bit part players had too much information about them. this made it hard to keep track of everything and when the killer is revealed, you do not feel you know enough about him/her. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Glownight | 8/15/2010

    " Another scandinavian thriller. Very slow plot but I like it in the end.

    Otra novela negra escandivava. Argumento lento pero me gusto al final. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alli | 8/14/2010

    " You really get to know the lead character in this book "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Asa Larsson was born and grew up in Kiruna, Sweden. She is a qualified lawyer.The Savage Altar was awarded the Swedish Crime Writers' Association prize for best debut. The Blood Spilt was chosen as the Best Swedish Crime Novel of 2004.Until Thy Wrath Be Past was a finalist for the 2012 CWA International Dagger Award. Larsson's novels have sold over 1.5 million copies worldwide.
About the Narrator

Hillary Huber, a Los Angeles–based voice talent with hundreds of commercials and promos under her belt, was bitten by the audiobook bug in 2005. She now records books on a regular basis and has been nominated for several Audie Awards and won ten Earphones Awards. Her recordings for Blackstone include Skinny Bastard, The Art of Social War, and The Cheater.