Extended Audio Sample

Download The Blood Spilt Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Blood Spilt, by Åsa Larsson Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,781 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Åsa Larsson Narrator: Hillary Huber Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Rebecka Martinsson Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

From the author of Sun Storm comes this disturbing, entrancing, beautifully crafted mystery, winner of Sweden’s Best Crime Novel award and an international sensation.

It’s midsummer in Sweden, when the light lingers through dawn as the long winter finally ends. In this magical time, a brutal killer strikes, and the murder of a female priest sends shock waves through the community.

With no cause to get involved, attorney Rebecka Martinsson cannot help herself. And the further she is drawn into a mystery that will soon claim another victim, the more the dead woman’s world consumes her, a world of hurt and healing, sin and sexuality, and above all, of lethal sacrifice.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_002115

Quotes & Awards

  • “Fans of Henning Mankell, Karin Fossum and Arnaldur Indridason will be rewarded.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “The plot is as dark as a winter solstice. Larsson’s genius is her ability to enter the deranged criminal mind…The bleakness of the Swedish psyche is laid bare, and it is not a pretty thing.”

    AudioFile

  • “Larsson…delivers plenty of suspense, but her real gift lies in her ability to climb inside the minds of her characters, analyzing their motivations for doing damage and good.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “A virtuoso mood piece that works endless changes on its unforgiving landscape.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Lisa Lewis | 2/19/2014

    " This is the second book in an interesting series by this author, a Swedish crime fiction writer. I enjoyed it in some ways better than the first, maybe due to the poetic inclusion of scenes from the point of view of a wolf who plays a small role in the story. Unfortunately, the primary character of the first book, Rebecka Martinsson, plays a smaller role in this book and seems such a pathetic character, I found myself wishing at times that the author could have been a little kinder to her. The pace of character and relationship development in both books suggest that the author plans to continue the series for some time. I'm in. For now, anyway. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Linnaea | 2/12/2014

    " A great use of daylight and latitude as a character. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Julie Siegel | 2/9/2014

    " I'm a sucker for the northern Swedish locale, but ever more so, this (her second of three translated into English so far)was immediate, has depth and reverberates. Looking forward to the next. My cover (low Scandinavian sun on ice, Bantam/Dell)much better! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by John | 2/1/2014

    " good story though it had a lot of moving parts. some key people were not developed enough and other bit part players had too much information about them. this made it hard to keep track of everything and when the killer is revealed, you do not feel you know enough about him/her. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Åsa Larsson was born in Kiruna, Sweden, in 1966 and studied in Uppsala. A former tax lawyer, she now writes full time, preferring rural life with her husband, two children, and several chickens. Her book, Sun Storm, was the winner of Sweden’s Best First Crime Novel Award.