Extended Audio Sample

Download The Barrow Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Barrow Audiobook, by Mark Smylie Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Mark Smylie Narrator: Michael Page Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2014 ISBN: 9781494572754
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

When a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place. Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross-section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, united by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books or get them all killed. Download and start listening now!

bfmh

Quotes & Awards

  • Genuinely inspired, shockingly erotic, and completely fantastic. John R. Fultz, author of Seven Sorcerers
  • "‘Epic’ doesn’t even begin to describe the nuances and complexities of the plots and alliances in this fresh take on highly recommended heroic fantasy.”

    Jeff VanderMeer, World Fantasy Award–winning author of Annihilation

  • “Genuinely inspired, shockingly erotic, and completely fantastic, The Barrow is an immersive read that grabs you in its own strange gravity and leaves you craving more…It is bloody beautiful.”

    John R. Fultz, author of the Shaper trilogy

  • “A gritty fantasy adventure set in a vivid and complex world. Fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch will love The Barrow.”

    Mike Lee, author of Fallen Angels

  • “I love Mark Smylie’s world. Fans of deep, intricate settings with complex cultures and fascinating histories are in for a treat with The Barrow. Anyone who likes Steven Erikson should check this out.”

    Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Mark Smylie has worked as a writer, illustrator, editor, and publisher for over a decade. His epic military fantasy comic book Artesia was published in 1999. He was nominated for the Russ Manning Award for Best Newcomer that year and for an Eisner Award for Talent Deserving of Wider Recognition. He also designed and illustrated a role-playing game based on Artesia that won the Origins Award for Role-Playing Game of 2006, as well as three Indie RPG Awards, and he was nominated for six Annual Gen Con EN World RPG Awards. Mark founded Archaia in 2002 as a self-publishing home for his graphic novels and still serves as the company’s chief creative officer.

About the Narrator

Michael Page has been recording audiobooks since 1984 and has over two hundred titles to his credit. He has won ten AudioFile Earphones Awards and in 2012 was a winner of the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. As a professional actor, he has performed regularly since 1998 with the Peterborough Players in Peterborough, New Hampshire. He is a professor of theater at Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan.