The Appointment: A Novel Audiobook, by Katharina Volckmer Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Appointment: A Novel Audiobook

The Appointment: A Novel Audiobook, by Katharina Volckmer Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
Author: Katharina Volckmer Narrator: Lisa Flanagan Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Audio Length: Release Date: September 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781797115658

Publisher Description

For readers of Ottessa Moshfegh and Han Kang, a whip-smart, darkly funny, and subversive debut novel in which a woman on the verge of major change addresses her doctor in a stream of consciousness narrative.

In a well-appointed examination in London, a young woman unburdens herself to a certain Dr. Seligman. Though she can barely see above his head, she holds forth about her life and desires, her struggles with her sexuality and identity. Born and raised in Germany, she has been living in London for several years, determined to break free from her family origins and her haunted homeland. But the recent death of her grandfather, and an unexpected inheritance, make it clear that you cannot easily outrun your own shame, whether it be physical, familial, historical, national, or all of the above.

Or can you? With Dr. Seligman’s help, our narrator will find out.

In a monologue that is both deliciously dark and subversively funny, she takes us on a wide-ranging journey from Hitler-centered sexual fantasies and overbearing mothers to the medicinal properties of squirrel tails and the notion that anatomical changes can serve as historical reparation. The Appointment is an audacious debut novel by an explosive new international literary voice, challenging all of our notions of what is fluid and what is fixed, and the myriad ways we seek to make peace with others and ourselves in the 21st century.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Darkly hilarious, moving, and original. Its vibrant, incisive voice surprises and enlivens the reader on every page.”

    - Megan Hunter, author of The Harpy
  • “Katharina Volckmer is a wild new talent, and unlike, say, twentieth-century Europe, The Appointment succeeds in justifying its obscenities.”

    - Joshua Cohen, author of The Book of Numbers
  • “The Appointment is an epic truth bomb, a radical, hilarious roller-coaster, raw and wild as they come. The way this novel delights in itself, taking pleasure in its singularity and perversity, is the perfect antidote to boredom and bullshit.”

    - Elisa Albert, author of After Birth
  • “Surprising, inventive, disturbing and beautiful. I inhaled all its meanness and rancor at the beginning, which felt like a breath of fresh air. Even though I knew it would eventually turn, I was surprised and moved when it did. The Appointment is an overdue, radical intervention.”

    - Chris Kraus, author of I Love Dick
  • “The Appointment is transgressive, spiky, full of ideas but astonishingly light-footed, written in beautiful, unsettling prose, and very, very funny—in short, everything a novel should be.”

    - Adam Biles, author of Feeding Time

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Katharina Volckmer was born in Germany in 1987. She now lives in London where she works for a literary agency. The Appointment is her first novel.

About the Narrator

Lisa Flanagan is a classically trained soprano, comedian, voice-over artist, and Earphones Award–winning narrator.