Extended Audio Sample

Download The Animators: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Animators: A Novel, by Kayla Rae Whitaker Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kayla Rae Whitaker Narrator: Alex McKenna Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! The audiobook will be available for pre-order on January 10, 2017.Check back on that date to pre-order this title for the Jan 31, 2017 release!
Available for pre-order on: January 10, 2017

For readers of Meg Wolitzer and Adelle Waldman, and in the tradition of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, a bold and vibrant debut novel about a life-changing friendship, and its collision with an all-consuming artistic ambition

Download and start listening now!

c1d4

Quotes & Awards

  • The Animators is a heartbreakingly beautiful, sharply funny, arrestingly unforgettable novel about love and genius, the powerful obsessiveness of artistic creation, and the equally powerful undertow of the past. Kayla Rae Whitaker writes like her head is on fire. Kate Christensen, PEN/Faulkner Award–winning author of The Great Man
  • The Animators is a wildly original novel that pulses with heart and truth. That this powerful exploration of friendship, desire, ambition and secrets manages to be ebullient, gripping, heart breaking and deeply deeply funny is a testament to Whitaker’s formidable gifts. I was so sorry to reach the final page and Sharon and Mel will stay with me for a very long time. Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest
  • An engrossing, exuberant ride through all the territories of love—familial, romantic, sexual, love of friends, and, perhaps above all, white-hot passion for the art you were born to make . . . I wish I’d written The Animators. Emma Donoghue, author of Room and The Wonder
  • Every artist must come from somewhere; this is something you try to outrun, even as home fuels the creative engine. The Animators is a novel about a pair of cartoonists, but it’s also about the complexity of creative friendship, about balance and jealousy, growing into yourself and living with your talent and trying to actually, impossibly get along in this cracked and unjust world. The result is unapologetic and raucous and compulsively readable; it is potato-chip-friendly and deeply, generously wise. Charles Bock, author of Alice & Oliver
  • Unexpected and nuanced and pulsing with life . . . Sweeping and intimate . . . Empathetic but never sentimental; a book that creeps up on you and then swallows you whole. Kirkus (starred review)
  • A wildly original novel that pulses with heart and truth . . . That this powerful exploration of friendship, desire, ambition, and secrets manages to be ebullient, gripping, heartbreaking, and deeply deeply funny is a testament to Kayla Rae Whitaker’s formidable gifts. I was so sorry to reach the final page. Sharon and Mel will stay with me for a very long time. Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney, author of The Nest
  • Visceral . . . utterly compelling . . . with the nonstop tension of a soap opera. Booklist
  • [An] outstanding debut . . . Whitaker skillfully charts the creative process, its lulls and sudden rushes of perfect inspiration. And in the relationship between Mel and Sharon, she has created something wonderful and exceptional: a rich, deep, and emotionally true connection that will certainly steal the hearts of readers. Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • A compulsively readable portrait of women as incandescent artists and intimate collaborators. Elle
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations