Download The American Trajectory: Divine or Demonic? Audiobook

The American Trajectory: Divine or Demonic? Audiobook, by David Ray Griffin Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: David Ray Griffin Narrator: Stefan Rudnicki Publisher: Skyboat Media Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2019 ISBN: 9781982621469
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In The American Trajectory: Divine or Demonic? David Ray Griffin traces the trajectory of the American empire from its founding through to the end of the twentieth century. A prequel to Griffin’s Bush and Cheney, this book demonstrates with many examples the falsity of the claim for American exceptionalism, a secular version of the old idea that America has been divinely founded and guided.

The introduction illustrates the claims for divine providence and American exceptionalism from George Washington to the book Exceptional by Dick and Liz Cheney. After pointing out that the idea that America is an empire is no longer controversial, it then contrasts those who consider it benign with those who consider it malign. The remainder of the book supports the latter point of view.

The American Trajectory contains episodes that many readers will find surprising:

  • The sinking of the Lusitania was anticipated, both by Churchill and Wilson, as a means of inducing America’s entry into World War I
  • The attack on Pearl Harbor was neither unprovoked nor a surprise
  • During the “Good War” the US government plotted and played politics with a view to becoming the dominant empire
  • There was no need to drop atomic bombs on Japan either to win the war or to save American lives
  • US decisions were central to the inability of the League of Nations and the United Nations to prevent war
  • The United States was more responsible than the Soviet Union for the Cold War;
  • The Vietnam War was far from the only US military adventure during the Cold War that killed great numbers of civilians
  • The US government organized false flag attacks that deliberately killed Europeans
  • America’s military interventions after the dissolution of the Soviet Union taught some conservatives (such as Andrew Bacevich and Chalmers Johnson) that the US interventions during the Cold War were not primarily defensive

The conclusion deals with the question of how knowledge by citizens of how the American Empire has behaved could make America better and how America, which had long thought of itself as the Redeemer Nation, might redeem itself.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “All who regard themselves as responsible citizens should expose themselves to Griffin’s arguments set forth so lucidly, persuasively, and imaginatively in this indispensable book.”

    Richard Falk, Emeritus Professor of International Law, Princeton University, on Bush and Cheney

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

David Ray Griffin is emeritus professor of philosophy of religion and theology at Claremont School of Theology and Claremont Graduate University and the codirector of the Center for Process Studies. He edited the SUNY Series in Constructive Postmodern Thought, which published thirty-one volumes. He has written some thirty books, edited over a dozen, and authored more than 200 articles and chapters. His most recent books are Bush and Cheney: How They Ruined America and the World and Unprecedented: Can Humanity Survive the CO2 Crisis?

About the Narrator

Stefan Rudnicki first became involved with audiobooks in 1994. Now a Grammy-winning audiobook producer, he has worked on more than three thousand audiobooks as a narrator, writer, producer, or director. He has narrated more than three hundred audiobooks. A recipient of multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards, he was presented the coveted Audie Award for solo narration in 2005, 2007, and 2014, and was named one of AudioFile’s Golden Voices in 2012.