Extended Audio Sample

Download The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel Audiobook, by Rob Stennett Click for printable size audiobook cover
2.78 out of 52.78 out of 52.78 out of 52.78 out of 52.78 out of 5 2.78 (27 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Rob Stennett Narrator: S. A. Rogers, Rebecca Rogers Publisher: HarperCollins Christian Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2009 ISBN: 9780310772101
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Meet Ryan Fisher—a self-assured real estate agent who’s looking for an edge in the market. While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It’s like they’re begging for affordable but classy starter homes. Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week. But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a church—he could create an empire. The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.

Download and start listening now!

BK_ZOND_000498

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Carrie | 2/12/2014

    " I did enjoy some of this book but was left at the end confused and disappointed. While a fun read, there were too many problems for me to recommend this book to anyone. It seemed like the book had a lot of potential it didn't live up to, maybe due to the authors inexperience or lack of a good editor. Possibly a problem with my kindle edition but the editing was poor, particularly transitions in POV. Several times I had to back up and re-read a section to understand what had happened. I also could not buy into the way the main character was presented as naive, misguided, but not really a bad person. To have accomplished what he did, and to take the specific steps he did, it is impossible to believe he didn't understand the negative consequences of his actions on the people around him, and the harm he could be causing. The religious aspects of the book were unclear and poorly executed. In parts it seemed God was an active force in the book, but the main character was left untouched. If the author's intention was for us to consider what was real and what was not, the result was merely confusing and not thought provoking. In the end even a farce or satire must have some impact on the characters, but I was left I unsatisfied. What had changed? How were the characters impacted by the events in the book? I felt the author couldn't decide what he wanted the book to be, or was trying to force it to be a certain style, at the expense of what could have been a very interesting story. Unless our conclusion is supposed to be that religion is completely meaningless and nothing we do matters as long as we are nice even when we deceive people, then maybe he succeeded and I missed the bigger picture. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Elaine Dowling | 1/23/2014

    " This is the worst book I have ever bothered to finish, and the only reason I did finish it was I kept thinking that it was so bad, its badness had to be a build up to something else. I was wrong. It was just bad. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Connie | 12/30/2013

    " A very funny satire of modern super churches. Enjoyed it. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Justinia | 12/24/2013

    " This book is boring me to death. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Darrah | 12/16/2013

    " I was trying to avoid soft Christian fiction and I felt like this did the trick. Really spoke the truth about the reality of people in marriage and new comers to a religion. We all want to do right but we're just sort of faking/feeling our way through it. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jessica | 12/13/2013

    " This book had a few issues for me: I felt like the author was trying to hard to be funny, the ending was unsatisfying and abrupt and the few references to Mormons as NOT Christian grated. I finished it, and it had a clever premise, but kind of fell flat for me. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Karen Benne | 12/4/2013

    " Finished reading only because of my commitment to book club otherwise I would have chucked it midway thru at the latest. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nathan | 11/14/2013

    " What happens when an almost out-of-work real estate agent discovers a new market - evangelical Christians, and follows the opportunity to its logical conclusion? (logical, at least, for a highly energetic and studious salesman) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Terri | 9/19/2013

    " I really liked this book...though tagged in the "christian" section, i found it an exciting read compared to the normal novel "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shiloh | 7/26/2013

    " A large part of the book I found as an entertaining read, but as I progressed closer to the end, I found it more engaging and thought provoking. I couldn't help but thinking the novel had to be a bit cathartic for the author considering the recent events surrounding our church. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dominique | 12/27/2012

    " This lad lit was hysterical. A guy manages to start a megachurch but he doesn't really believe in god. I laughed a lot at this book. Even the premise is ridiculous, but plausible. The dialogue was funny and the situations just uncomfortable enough to believe "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Netta | 12/11/2012

    " Seeing the "Christian World" through the eyes of the non-christian main character is enlightening and funny. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Megan | 11/8/2012

    " Satirical look at churches and Christians in America. A little too long. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rhonda | 6/28/2012

    " Fiction novel about Ryan Fisher, who "pretends" to be a Christian, and starts up and pastors his own church, bluffing his whole way through, wife included. A look at the Christian life from the non-Christian viewpoint. a little silly. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Amy | 3/3/2012

    " I really can't recommend this to anyone. I think I'm giving up on the free books for a while. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Dawn | 11/9/2011

    " Unless you are a Jesus freak this book isn't very funny, not quite cynical enough for those of us who aren't and I don't think very serious for those who are. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alison | 9/14/2011

    " The blurb on the back describes it as "hilarious and spot-on" - I'm not sure I'd go that far. It was funny in places and accurate about the experiences of someone new to going to church. I liked the footnotes and thoughts intermingled with the characters' speech. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sheila | 8/8/2011

    " Talked about this book for days after I read it because it was so good. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Helen Southall | 6/9/2011

    " Funny story of a guy looking for his future. Decides to become a pastor and launch his own church. (Without the benefit of training or credentials.) I guess you can see where this is going. Not very well written but entertaining. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Martha | 7/22/2010

    " Good read, but not sure I love the ending. Fascinating idea of how mega-churches can sometimes "pop up" without people really knowing what is going on. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Amy | 4/25/2010

    " I really can't recommend this to anyone. I think I'm giving up on the free books for a while. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 3/1/2010

    " Hilarious so far. As someone who has grown up in the Baptist church, the language and humor of this book are very catchy. Interesting perspective on growing a church. Plan to read this author's most recent work "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nathan | 2/16/2010

    " What happens when an almost out-of-work real estate agent discovers a new market - evangelical Christians, and follows the opportunity to its logical conclusion? (logical, at least, for a highly energetic and studious salesman) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alison | 8/23/2009

    " The blurb on the back describes it as "hilarious and spot-on" - I'm not sure I'd go that far. It was funny in places and accurate about the experiences of someone new to going to church. I liked the footnotes and thoughts intermingled with the characters' speech. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Justinia | 2/21/2009

    " This book is boring me to death. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rhonda | 2/6/2009

    " Fiction novel about Ryan Fisher, who "pretends" to be a Christian, and starts up and pastors his own church, bluffing his whole way through, wife included. A look at the Christian life from the non-Christian viewpoint. a little silly.
    "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Dinah | 12/16/2008

    " Pretty funny. Ending a little disappointing "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Rob StennettRob Stennett is the author of two novels: The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher and The End Is Now. He’s the creative director at New Life Church and an accomplished film and theater director. He lives in Colorado.
About the Narrator

Rebecca Rogers has been a professional actor and performer for twenty years, specializing in improvisation with ComedySportz and period acting with several renaissance festivals across the country. She is director of the Northwest Renaissance Festival and founder of the Society for Renaissance Performers in Spokane, Washington.