Extended Audio Sample

Download The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher: A Novel, by Rob Stennett Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (245 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Rob Stennett Narrator: S. A. Rogers, Rebecca Roger Publisher: HarperCollins Christian Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $57.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $34.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Meet Ryan Fisher—a self-assured real estate agent who’s looking for an edge in the market.

While watching a news special late one night, he sees evangelical Christians raising their hands in worship. It’s like they’re begging for affordable but classy starter homes.

Ryan discovers the Christian business directory and places an ad complete with a Jesus fish. His business doubles in a week. But after visiting an actual church, Ryan realizes that with his business savvy, he could not only plant a church—he could create an empire.

The Almost True Story of Ryan Fisher is a hilarious, spot-on, and often heartbreaking satire in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut, Tom Perrotta, and Douglas Adams.

Download and start listening now!


Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Carrie | 2/12/2014

    " I did enjoy some of this book but was left at the end confused and disappointed. While a fun read, there were too many problems for me to recommend this book to anyone. It seemed like the book had a lot of potential it didn't live up to, maybe due to the authors inexperience or lack of a good editor. Possibly a problem with my kindle edition but the editing was poor, particularly transitions in POV. Several times I had to back up and re-read a section to understand what had happened. I also could not buy into the way the main character was presented as naive, misguided, but not really a bad person. To have accomplished what he did, and to take the specific steps he did, it is impossible to believe he didn't understand the negative consequences of his actions on the people around him, and the harm he could be causing. The religious aspects of the book were unclear and poorly executed. In parts it seemed God was an active force in the book, but the main character was left untouched. If the author's intention was for us to consider what was real and what was not, the result was merely confusing and not thought provoking. In the end even a farce or satire must have some impact on the characters, but I was left I unsatisfied. What had changed? How were the characters impacted by the events in the book? I felt the author couldn't decide what he wanted the book to be, or was trying to force it to be a certain style, at the expense of what could have been a very interesting story. Unless our conclusion is supposed to be that religion is completely meaningless and nothing we do matters as long as we are nice even when we deceive people, then maybe he succeeded and I missed the bigger picture. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Elaine Dowling | 1/23/2014

    " This is the worst book I have ever bothered to finish, and the only reason I did finish it was I kept thinking that it was so bad, its badness had to be a build up to something else. I was wrong. It was just bad. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Connie | 12/30/2013

    " A very funny satire of modern super churches. Enjoyed it. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Justinia | 12/24/2013

    " This book is boring me to death. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations