The Alice Behind Wonderland Audiobook, by Simon Winchester Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Alice Behind Wonderland Audiobook

The Alice Behind Wonderland Audiobook, by Simon Winchester Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
Author: Simon Winchester Narrator: Simon Winchester Publisher: HarperCollins Audio Length: Release Date: May 2011 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062105332

Publisher Description

On a summer's day in 1858, in a garden behind Christ Church College in Oxford, Charles Dodgson, a lecturer in mathematics, photographed six-year-old Alice Liddell, the daughter of the college dean, with a Thomas Ottewill Registered Double Folding camera, recently purchased in London.

Simon Winchester deftly uses the resulting image--as unsettling as it is famous, and the subject of bottomless speculation--as the vehicle for a brief excursion behind the lens, a focal point on the origins of a classic work of English literature. Dodgson's love of photography framed his view of the world, and was partly responsible for transforming a shy and half-deaf mathematician into one of the world's best-loved observers of childhood. Little wonder that there is more to "Alice Liddell as the Beggar Maid" than meets the eye. Using Dodgson's published writings, private diaries, and of course his photographic portraits, Winchester gently exposes the development of Lewis Carroll and the making of his Alice.

Download and start listening now!


  • “Winchester’s elegantly written study provides a balanced, sympathetic portrait of a complex and gifted man.”

    - Wall Street Journal
  • “Winchester’s crystal-clear language makes Dodgson’s internal journey from childhood to maturity a perfect example of the effect of a ‘testosterone-fueled’ public education on a brilliant mind and character, someone never regarded as ‘a man’s man’…A sensitive and erudite read.” 

    - Sunday Express (London)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Simon Winchester is the acclaimed author of many books, including The Professor and the Madman, The Man Who Loved China, A Crack in the Edge of the World, and Krakatoa—all of which were New York Times bestsellers and appeared on numerous best and notable lists. In 2006 he was made an officer of the Order of the British Empire by her Majesty the Queen.