The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared Audiobook, by Jonas Jonasson Play Audiobook Sample

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared Audiobook

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared Audiobook, by Jonas Jonasson Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $29.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Steven Crossley Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 8.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 6.00 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: September 2012 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781620643105

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

31

Longest Chapter Length:

65:30 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

49 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

23:12 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

5

Other Audiobooks Written by Jonas Jonasson: > View All...

Publisher Description

A larger-than-life old man with a fondness for vodka goes on an unexpected adventure in this whimsical novel — perfect for fans of Forrest Gump and A Man Called Ove.

After a long and eventful life, Allan Karlsson ends up in a nursing home, believing it to be his last stop. The only problem is that he’s still in good health—and tomorrow is his hundredth birthday. A big celebration is in the works, but Allan really isn’t interested, and he’d like a bit more control over his vodka consumption. So he decides to escape.

He climbs out the window in his slippers and embarks on a hilarious and entirely unexpected journey, involving, among other surprises, a suitcase stuffed with cash, some unpleasant criminals, a friendly hot-dog stand operator, and an elephant.

Quirky and utterly unique, The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared has charmed millions of people around the world.

Download and start listening now!

"What an amazing imagination the author must have. I really enjoyed the book. The interaction of today and yesteryear kept your attention. What else could Mr Allan Karlson possibly do in his lifetime? If only we all were as Laissez-faire with life. Maybe we'd reach 100 too."

— Keera (4 out of 5 stars)

Quotes

  • “[A] witty caper.”

    — People magazine (4½ stars)
  • “Imaginative, laugh-out-loud...A brilliant satire.”

    — Telegraph (London)
  • “[A] laugh-out-loud debut…[and a] gentle lampoon of procedurals and thrillers.”

    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “[A] silly and wonderful novel…will just keep readers amused almost non-stop."

    — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Awards

  • An iBooks bestseller
  • A Kirkus Reviews Pick of the Month
  • A BuzzFeed Books Pick of Books That Will Add Magic to Your Life
  • An Amazon Editor’s Top Pick

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 3.75 out of 53.75 out of 53.75 out of 53.75 out of 53.75 out of 5 (3.75)
5 Stars: 3
4 Stars: 9
3 Stars: 2
2 Stars: 1
1 Stars: 1
Narration: 0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 (0.00)
5 Stars: 0
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Story: 0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 (0.00)
5 Stars: 0
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " One of those books I wish I hadn't read yet- just so I could read it all over again. References to real people in history and how cleverly they are woven into this story are just brilliant. Lovely characters and a wonderfully absurd chain of events. "

    — Sue, 2/19/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Something really different! I read it in only two days. "

    — Allison, 2/14/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Not sure what I expected but certainly wasn't the story that unravelled! A few too many lucky escapes for my liking... "

    — Shelley, 2/12/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " I really enjoyed this book - it reminded me of early Karl Hiaassen - funny and subversive. It also gave a potted history of 20th century world politics - and believe me that was not as boring as it sounds! Great fun read. "

    — Sally, 2/3/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " The book was cute, and the plot moved along quickly. It had a sort of Forest Gump feel, which was welcomed. "

    — Kendall, 1/24/2014
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Tom Swift type tale of a man who found himself thrown into history changing situations. He manages to bumble his way though life threatening situations and in the course of saving himself and locating meals and vodka "

    — Leslie, 1/17/2014
  • Overall Performance: 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

    " I really liked this at the start, then I quickly became overwhelmed with characters... I found it difficult to read how I was reading (a little per day) and to remember the multiple names of everyone. "

    — Ciara, 1/17/2014
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " Read this (in swedish) like a month ago. I enjoyed it and i found it funny, but it wasn't lifechanging. Really great that a swedish book/author has made it abroad though!! "

    — Sara, 1/15/2014
  • Overall Performance: 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

    " It was the never ending book... "

    — Lesley, 1/4/2014
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " This was a fun read! "

    — Varia, 12/22/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " fun read...crazy wild life of this 100 year old man :-) "

    — Angela, 12/10/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Very enjoyable and unique way to review history! "

    — Anna, 10/4/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " A quirky, fun novel. At times I found the translation distracting, but it almost enhanced the quirkiness. Loved how Allan seems to find himself at the centre of so many monumental moments in history. A Swedish Bandy! "

    — Lori, 4/7/2013
  • Overall Performance: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

    " An elderly man runs away from his assisted living home and goes "on the lamb". Got to about page 100 and decided I didn't want to read anymore. Too much detail that just drug out the story. "

    — Laura, 2/13/2013
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Utterly refreshing, definitely worth picking up. Light hearted, unpretentious and entertaining from start to finish. "

    — Dougie, 2/5/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " gripping and highly amusing read ... loved every line of it! "

    — Mariel, 12/23/2012

About Jonas Jonasson

Jonas Jonasson was a journalist for the Expressen newspaper for many years. He became a media consultant and later on set up a company producing sports and events for Swedish television. He sold his company and moved abroad to work on his first novel. Jonasson now lives on the Swedish island Gotland in the Baltic Sea.

About Steven Crossley

Steven Crossley, a graduate of the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London, has built a career on both sides of the Atlantic as an actor and audiobook narrator, for which he has won more than a dozen AudioFile Earphones Awards and been a nominee for the prestigious Audie Award. He is a member of the internationally renowned theater company Complicite and has appeared in numerous theater, television, film, and radio dramas.