Extended Audio Sample

Download Take This Man: A Memoir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Take This Man: A Memoir, by Brando Skyhorse Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Brando Skyhorse Narrator: Bronson Pinchot Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy’s turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth.

When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of “Brando Skyhorse,” the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin.

Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last.

From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his “indelible storytelling” (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son’s single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one and is destined to become a classic.

Download and start listening now!

9675

Quotes & Awards

  • “A beautiful, compassionate, but also hilarious and hair-raising tale of one boy’s life, the lies and truths his mother told, and the damage and the magic she created. Brando Skyhorse is an irresistible writer with an incredible story.”

    Jeannette Walls, New York Times bestselling author

  • Take This Man is as astonishing a memoir as I've ever read. Brando Skyhorse’s beautifully told tale of his truly bizarre childhood and his search for a father moved me in a way that few books have. I will never forget Skyhorse’s charismatic mother and grandmother, nor the tortured triangle the three of them formed. I was reminded at times of Geoffrey Wolff’s The Duke of Deception, and also of The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls and The Tender Bar by J. R. Moehringer. But I guarantee that this is a family story unlike any you’ve read before. It deserves to become a classic.”

    Will Schwalbe, New York Times bestselling author

  • “Brando Skyhorse’s unputdownable Take This Man is one of the most moving and mesmerizing memoirs I’ve ever read. I’m still reeling. Its familial dysfunction rivals The Glass Castle, the poetry of the language echoes This Boy’s Life, and the bravery in Skyhorse’s search for answers, for a family, conjures up Wild. Yet Skyhorse’s memoir is wholly and uniquely his own. As his mother’s mantra went: ‘At least it’s never boring.’ And it never is. This is a miraculous memoir from a spectacularly talented writer.”

    Susannah Cahalan, New York Times bestselling author

  • “The details of Brando Skyhorse’s life are as outlandish and attention grabbing as his name. Imagine the kind of mother who advertises you for adoption in the back of a magazine and then denies it to your face or the kind of stepfather who calls his prison ‘Arizona State,’ as if discussing his alma mater. Take This Man is a funny and harrowing and touching portrait of the abyss in families between what we know we should do and how our hearts lead us to behave.”

    Jim Shepard, National Book Award finalist

  • Take This Man reaches beyond the bounds of my imagination. We use the word ‘survivor’ with disgracefully casual ease. But this writer truly survived being held hostage, raised by wolves. Brando’s grandmother and mother are terrifying and mesmerizing. Their cruelty to their biographer was audacious, calculated, and thrilling to read. Stories molested him and nourished him. And it is with relief that I read in Take This Man flashes of Brando’s bitterness and heat, sane fury directed at the Scheherazades who toyed with him. Whatever else they did to him, when he escaped he knew how to tell a story, and this is one hell of story.”

    Geoffrey Wolff, Pulitzer Prize finalist

  • “Skyhorse’s vivid and idiosyncratic family memoir traces his ongoing struggle to search for an identity and fatherly guidance amidst his entanglement in his mother’s chaotic lifestyle…Skyhorse’s upbringing has had lasting effects on his romantic relationships and mental health, but he manages to write about his experiences and those who shaped them with grace. By turns darkly comical and moving, this powerful memoir of a family in flux will stick with readers well after they’ve put it down.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Wickedly compelling…By turns funny and wrenching, the narrative is an unforgettable tour de force of memory, love, and imagination.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Narrator Bronson Pinchot delivers this memoir with a wistful tone and dramatic timing…The result is an engaging memoir built on an emotional roller coaster of missed opportunities.”

    AudioFile

  • “Skyhorse follows The Madonnas of Echo Park with an account of his own Los Angeles childhood in the Echo Park neighborhood in a family so dysfunctional it seems to be fictional…A harrowing, compulsively readable story of one man’s remarkable search for identity.”

    Booklist

  • Selected for the June 2014 Indie Next List
  • Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month, June 2014
  • One of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2014
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations