Extended Audio Sample

Download Summer at Forsaken Lake Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Summer at Forsaken Lake Audiobook, by Michael D. Beil Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (135 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael D. Beil Narrator: Thomas Vincent Kelly Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2012 ISBN: 9780449010228
Regular Price: $19.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

With their father en route to Africa for Doctors Without Borders, city-kids Nicholas and younger twin sisters Haley and Hetty are off to spend the summer with their Great-Uncle Nick at his house on Forsaken Lake. Despite some initial doubts, Nicholas is right at home in the country: he learns to sail, learns about his father as a boy, and makes fast friends with a local-girl, the tomboy Charlie.

The summer takes a turn toward the mysterious, though, when Nicholas discovers an old movie that his father made as a boy: it tells the story of the local legend, The Seaweed Strangler, but was never finished. Before long Nicholas wants answers both about the legend, and about the movie. Together, he and Charlie work to uncover the truth and discover some long-buried family secrets along the way.

In this lovely middle-grade novel, Michael D. Beil has invoked one of his own favorites, We Didn't Mean to Go to Sea, as well as other great summer books of years-past.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_001478

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 paula mcnamer | 2/8/2014

    " enjoyed this audio book, predictable yet fun "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Allison | 2/5/2014

    " Good for boys or girls, about 11 or 12 years old. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Caren | 1/25/2014

    " I enjoyed this little novel, with its well-developed characters and old-fashioned feel. It isn't flashy, but is a good solid read. It has inspired me to read Arthur Ransome's "We Didn't Mean to Go to Sea". It takes a little while to get into the plot, but once you are invested in the story, it moves right along to a satisfying conclusion. This would be a wonderful read for upper elementary and above who have an interest in sailing, with its many sailing terms and descriptions. It's also a nice book to read during summer vacation , or ,at least, when dreams of summer are on your mind. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Renee | 1/21/2014

    " Summer at Forsaken Lake is a great book for upper elementary and middle school. Who wouldn't want to read about a summer at a lake with mystery and intrigue? The characters are ones that kids will be able to easily identify as they are realist kids and not vampires or other creatures. I will be passing this book along to my 12 and 14 yr old children. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Annie | 12/31/2013

    " nice, light summer coming-of-age story with a 12-year-old boy protagonist. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Donalyn | 12/18/2013

    " 3.5 stars A delightful book which reminded me of the Penderwicks. Lots of boating terminology and information. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lisa Nagel | 12/14/2013

    " Reminded me of the Penderwicks. A sweet summer tale of friendship and adventure. Sure to please the sailors too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 MamaDoodle | 9/29/2013

    " Audiobook for family roadtrip. Perfect. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Heather | 8/29/2013

    " An old-fashioned feeling read, perfect for a day at the lake. Call it 3.5 stars for a bit of a slow pace. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jenn Estepp | 8/5/2013

    " I wanted to like this much more than I actually did. It's fine, but missing a certain something. Also, I found the illustrations not-entirely-suiting. But I am further resolved to read some Arthur Ransome, if only the library had 'em. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lynda | 7/29/2013

    " Story was good but the book was a little too long. Some of the story could have been cut and I think the book would have been so much better. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Danylle | 7/19/2013

    " It's a cute little story. Good for kids probably 9 to 14 or so. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Connie | 3/27/2013

    " New book that I hope will be nominated for the Twain Award next year. A 12 year-old boy and his sisters from NYC are sent to a great uncle's home in Ohio to spend their summer. They enjoy becoming part of the community, learning new skills, and making new friends. Good read for reluctant readers. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 B | 11/7/2012

    " fun summer read. Exciting, the kids try to solve an old mystery involving their parents. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ms.Patterson | 10/21/2012

    " This book started off strong, and I was flying through it. But the mystery involved quickly falls flat and the book then meanders on. It's good, but the beginning and end feel like different books. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Alexis | 9/3/2012

    " I really enjoyed the setting and characters of this book. It is definitely a read-alike for The Penderwicks series. However, boys would like Summer at Forsaken Lake as well. It was a sweet tale about kids enjoying life during a slow summer. Sigh. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 6/17/2012

    " I enjoyed this "tween" novel. A nice bump up from series fiction like Boxcar Children, solid plot, realistic characters. I think 11-12-13 year olds would connect with these characters. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Michael D. BeilMichael D. Beil is an English teacher in a New York City high school. The Red Blazer Girls: The Vanishing Violin is his second book for Knopf, and he is currently at work on a third Red Glazer Girls mystery.