Extended Audio Sample

Download Stalking Susan Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Stalking Susan, by Julie Kramer Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (947 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Julie Kramer Narrator: Bernadette Dunn Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Riley Spartz Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.00 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Inside the desperate world of TV ratings, an investigative reporter discovers that a serial killer is targeting women named Susan and killing one on the same day each year.

Television reporter Riley Spartz is recovering from a heartbreaking, headline-making catastrophe of her own when a longtime police source drops two homicide files in her lap in the back of a dark movie theater. Both cold cases involve women named Susan strangled on the same day, one year apart. Last seen alive in one of Minneapolis’s poorest neighborhoods, their bodies are each dumped in one of the city’s wealthiest areas. Riley senses a pattern between those murders and others pulled from a computer database of old death records. She must broadcast a warning soon, especially to viewers named Susan, because the deadly anniversary is approaching. 
But not just lives are at stake— so are careers. 
November is television sweeps month, and every rating point counts at Channel 3. Riley must go up against a news director who cares more about dead dogs than dead women, a politician who fears negative stories about serial killers will hurt the city’s convention business, and the very real possibility that her source knows more about the murders than he is letting on. 
When Riley suspects the killer has moved personal items from one victim to the next as part of an elaborate ritual, she stages a bold on-air stunt to draw him out and uncovers a motive that will leave readers breathless.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “[An] impressive debut…Readers will look forward to seeing a lot more of the appealing Riley.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “[A] lively and fast-paced debut…Kramer writes with heart and pizzazz, and her believable heroine makes the well-worn concept feel fresh. [Her] past as a TV producer lends authority to an entertaining story.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Riley Spartz is a classic spunky investigator. She’ll have readers cheering for her gutsy determination to stop the killings and boost her ratings.”

    USA Today

  • “This is a fast-paced and nicely characterized debut that will appeal to fans of Linda Fairstein and Laura Lippman.”

    Library Journal

  • “A snappily paced debut thriller…Truly scary no matter what your name is.”


  • “Dazzling…Readers who enjoy Janet Evanovich will soon be stalking Julie Kramer.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • A 2009 Mary Higgins Clark Award Finalist
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • A 2009 Barry Award Finalist for Best First Novel
  • A 2009 Anthony Award Finalist for Best First Novel
  • A 2009 Shamus Award Nominee for Best First Novel

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Susanlk | 2/4/2014

    " I loved this book! I've had Julie Kramer on my list of authors to read for several years & she didn't disappoint. Riley Spartz is an on air newscaster for a tv station in Minneapolis, MN. She's an investigative reporter who's often in trouble with her bosses because she's tenacious in pursuit of her story--often bending journalism ethics or skirting laws. She has a possible love interest in a retired police officer but first she must come to terms over the violent death of her husband, a state trooper who was killed in the line of duty. There is lots of action in the book & the characters are easy to root for. The author lives in MN & Twin Cities landmarks, streets, & restaurants are featured prominently in her story. She's written a series of books featuring Riley--I can't wait to start the next one! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Nancy | 2/2/2014

    " A good read after some pretty intense - heavy reads. I always appreciate a book that truly is a relaxing read ... and the references to Minneapolis / St. Paul were a fond memory plus. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Elaine | 1/12/2014

    " This is an intriguing story about a tv reporter who teams up with an ex-cop to solve an old (suspected) serial murder. There is also a side story regarding a vet who mistreats animals. Very interesting. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Krystal | 12/28/2013

    " Loved this book and cannot wait to read the next one!! "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations