Extended Audio Sample

Download Slumberland Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Slumberland, by Paul Beatty Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Paul Beatty Narrator: Kevin R. Free Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Paul Beatty is praised for writing with “cheerfully raunchy, tossed-off outrageousness” (Washington Post). In Slumberland, a man travels halfway around the world in search of musical perfection and ends up rediscovering his identity as a black man. Ferguson Sewell, aka DJ Darky, is a jazz enthusiast who does porno film scores to make money. Claiming to have a phonographic memory, Sewell is obsessed with the Schwa—a brilliant musician who supposedly disappeared into Cold War Berlin in the 1960s. When Sewell receives an already-scored production from a West Berlin bar called Slumberland, he’s certain the film’s incredible soundtrack is the work of the Schwa. So Sewell heads to Berlin, soon finding himself an exotic object of desire and watching as the city’s walls crumble around him. Download and start listening now!

afbe

Quotes & Awards

  • “With its dictionary delight mixed with cheerfully raunchy, tossed-off outrageousness, Slumberland is like a trip-hop Myra Breckinridge, (If Myra were plying her libidinous philosophy in contemporary America, it’s easy to imagine her, like Sowell, dreaming of a “menage a noir.”). What Gore Vidal did for sex and gender constructs, though, Beatty does for race and prominent black Americans, with sacred cow-tipping on nearly every page. Waterfalls of wordplay that pool and merge like acid jazz on the page…well worth checking out for any language lover with a wicked sense of humor. When Beatty is beating out his linguistic arpeggios, I could listen all day.”

    Washington Post

  • Slumberland is laugh-out-loud funny and its wit and satire can be burning, regardless of where they are pointed: blackness or whiteness. The book places Beatty somewhere among Ishmael Reed, Dany Laferriere and William S. Burroughs, and it is rife with sex (particularly interracial sex as weapon, as guilt and celebration, but never as love), music (it is, in fact, a love poem to music as identity, as savior, as self, as the perfect language) and religion, whatever mask it wears. There are incredible moments of tenderness… Beatty is kind of symphonic W. E. B. Du Bois.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “Furiously written…another bravura performance from the searingly talented Paul Beatty. A no-holds-barred comedic romp that crushes through the Fulda Gap of Black/White, East/West relationships like an M1 tank.”

    Junot Diaz

  • “Nobody riffs like Paul Beatty. Uproarious, incisive and thrillingly original, Slumberland is a masterful journey into sound, a diatonic/Teutonic search for love, identity, the perfect beat and the perfect beatdown. Like any great soloist, Beatty reveals entire worlds with each note, some of them heartbreakingly familiar and others heretofore unknown. This is an epic mash-up of race, music, culture, history, and everything else worth throwing on a turntable.”

    Adam Mansbach, author of The End of the Jews

  • “In Paul Beatty’s brilliant comic novel, an American deejay in Berlin declares the end of blackness even as he finds himself the object of a million racial projections. Every sentence is a moment of fierce and intelligent wit, and all of our preconceived notions—of racial-uplift narratives, of Germany, and of the nature of music—are turned squarely and rightly on their heads.”

    Danzy Senna, author of Caucasia and Symptomatic

  • “With its acerbic running commentary on race, sex and Cold War culture, the latest from Beatty…contains flashes of absurdist brilliance in the tradition of William Burroughs and Ishmael Reed.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Ferociously witty and original…virtuosic and hilarious. Whether he’s warning against the ‘cutie-pie cabal’ of The All-New Mickey Mouse Club; spinning a track for a philosopher skinhead; hypothesizing about Harriet Tubman or Nabokov or Big Daddy Kane; rhapsodizing about every sound he’s ever heard (he has a “phonographic memory”); or brilliantly spinning an analogy between East Germans after reunification and African-Americans during Reconstruction, DJ Darky brings the full funk. Marvelous.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “With laugh-out-loud parodies of everything from the SAT’s cultural bias to neo-Nazi musical tastes, Slumberland shows that Beatty can still crank out the acerbic riffs…as inimitable as ever. Beatty’s outrageous novel aims to provoke, and it succeeds.”

    Time Out New York

  • “One of the hip hop generation’s most lyrical writers spins a tale that traces an introspective DJ from his Los Angeles home to Berlin in search of a sublime sax player he hopes will bless his latest sonic sculpture.”

    Vibe

  • “The narrative touches on oppression and the inexplicable, transcendent power of music, both of which translate to the American race struggle. Beatty’s rolling Faulknerian prose has been praised for its “dazzling linguistic flights” (Salon), and this newest novel is no different; the dense imagery and sound create a synesthesia carnival.”

    Library Journal

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations