Sleep No More: Six Murderous Tales Audiobook, by P. D. James Play Audiobook Sample

Download Sleep No More: Six Murderous Tales Audiobook

Sleep No More: Six Murderous Tales Audiobook, by P. D. James Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
Author: P. D. James Narrator: Daniel Weyman Publisher: Random House Audio Audio Length: Release Date: November 2017 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780525588184

Publisher Description

No one gets inside the head of the murderer—or makes it a more thrilling read—than the late, great P. D. James. Fast on the heels of her latest best seller: a new, fiendishly entertaining gathering of previously uncollected stories, from the author of Death Comes to Pemberley and The Private Patient.

It's not always a question of "whodunit?" Sometimes there's more mystery in the why or how. And although we usually know the unhealthy fates of both victim and perpetrator, what of those clever few who plan and carry out the perfect crime? The ones who aren't brought down even though they're found out? And what about those who do the finding out who witness a murder or who identify the murderer but keep the information to themselves? These are some of the mysteries that we follow through those six stories as we are drawn into the thinking, the memories, the emotional machinations, the rationalizations, the dreams and desires behind murderous cause and effect.

This selection © 2017 by the Estate of P.D. James.

“The Yo-Yo” written 1996; revised as “Hearing Ghote” in The Verdict of Us All, ed. Peter Lovesey copyright P. D. James 2006.

“The Victim” first published in Winter’s Crimes 5, ed. Virginia Whitaker copyright P. D. James 1973.

“The Murder of Santa Claus” first published in Great Detectives, ed. D. W. McCullough copyright P. D. James 1984.

“The Girl Who Loved Graveyards” first published in Winter’s Crimes 15, ed. George Hardinge copyright P. D. James 1983.

“A Very Desirable Residence” first published in Winter’s Crimes 8, ed. Hilary Watson copyright P. D. James 1976.

“Mr Millcroft’s Birthday” first published as “The Man Who Was 80” in The Man Who copyright P. D. James 1992; revised as “Mr Maybrick’s Birthday” copyright 2005.

Foreword copyright 2017 by Peter Kemp. 

Download and start listening now!


  • These stories . . . are, at least on the surface, of the ‘cosy’ school of crime fiction, though as any seasoned James reader will anticipate, that cosines is something of an angora mitten on a clenched fist. . . . A worthy addition to their much-missed author’s bodies of work. It is difficult to imagine a more pleasing afternoon than one beside a fire or radiator, with a pot of tea to hand and autumn rain against the window, while settling in for a series of delightful shocks.

    - Sarah Perry, The Guardian
  • A sophisticated collection of ‘six murderous tales,’ all stylishly told and worthy of being read aloud by the fire.

    - Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review
  • Sleep No More offers six previously uncollected, quite wonderful ‘murderous tales’ that will delight her longtime fans and can be a fine introduction to her work for others. . . . The stories collected here are variously surprising, sardonic and darkly humorous, and they are always intelligent and beautifully written. As much as any crime writer I know, James transcends genre and should be viewed simply as a writer of exceptional literary skill. . . . Most [short stories] are forgettable, but some become favorites to be returned to, such as J.D. Salinger’s ‘For Esmé—With Love and Squalor’ and Flannery O’Connor’s ‘A Good Man is Hard to Find.’ One or two of the stories in Sleep No More are candidates for that list.

    - Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post
  • Delicious and smart . . . [a] fun collection.

    - Ginny Greene, The Star-Tribune (Minneapolis)
  • Sleep No More . . . is anything but a snooze. . . . The collection mostly turns the classic murder mystery on its ear by not being so much a ‘whodunit’ as a when, where and how’d they get away with it? . . . James’s skill at complicating the genre are never more apparent than here, where every victim is not always worthy of our sympathy and not every murderer deserves our scorn. . . . An unexpected delight . . . this small collection is indeed a gift.

    - Mary Cadden, USA Today
  • Nothing quite matches the pleasure of the traditionally cozy English mystery on a winter evening.

    - San Francisco Chronicle
  • [P.D. James’s] nostalgic style harks back to the golden age of the 1920s and 1930s, of Agatha Christie and Margery Allingham; James called on similar motifs from that era, but developed them further with psychological insight and a gleeful darkness.

    - Fred Melnyczuk, Financial Times  

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

P. D. James (1920–2014), English crime writer, was the author of numerous detective novels, many of which were New York Times bestsellers. She spent thirty years in various departments of the British civil service, including the Police and Criminal Law Departments of the Home Office. She has served as a magistrate and as a governor of the BBC. In 2000 she celebrated her eightieth birthday and published her autobiography, Time to Be in Earnest. The recipient of many prizes and honors, she was named Baroness James of Holland Park in 1991.

About the Narrator

Daniel Weyman is an actor and an AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator. He has appeared on stage in Sam West’s Sheffield Crucible production of As You Like It and the Chichester Festival Theatre’s production of David Edgar’s The Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby. His portrayal of the title character earned him a nomination for Best Performance in a Play at the 2006 TMA Awards. His television appearances include Colditz and the BAFTA-winning BBC drama Dunkirk. In 2010 he played Tom Jackson in his first lead movie role in the film Just Inès.