Skywatchers Audiobook, by Carrie Arcos Play Audiobook Sample

Download Skywatchers Audiobook

Skywatchers Audiobook, by Carrie Arcos Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
Author: Carrie Arcos Narrator: Adenrele Ojo Publisher: Listening Library Audio Length: Release Date: August 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780593208854

Publisher Description

From National Book Award Finalist Carrie Arcos comes a thrilling, genre-bending mystery about the history of the Cold War and the UFO phenomenon. Perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and Netflix's Stranger Things. The year is 1952. The threat of invasion from the Soviet Union has people in a panic. The government has issued a call to civilians to act as radar--and Teddy, John, Caroline, Eleanor, Bunny, Frank, and Oscar eagerly answer. As members of their high school's "Operation Skywatch" club, they, along with others across the country, look to the sky in an effort to protect the country from attack. But they're not prepared for the strange green light they see when on duty, which looks like nothing they've been trained to look out for. So when the mysterious object lands in the forest, Teddy, John, Caroline, and Bunny go in to investigate. Then, they disappear. In this thrill of a novel inspired by real events, one group of teens will come face to face with the UFO phenomenon and the vastness of the unknown as they try to save one another, and possibly, the world. A powerful exploration of what if. Praise for Skywatchers: "The historical time period, astute character development, and suspense-filled writing will draw readers in." --Kirkus Reviews "An expertly crafted genre mash-up of sci-fi, historical fiction, and mystery, with a dash of thriller that will keep readers racing towards the end. A unique and original tale that will appeal to a wide variety of teens. A must-have for all teen collections." --School Library Journal

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • * "A multilayered view of tragedy and its repercussions.

    - Publishers Weekly, starred review
  • * "This complex, compelling story takes readers on a deep dive below the surface, exposing both the fragility of life and the redemptive bonds of love.

    - Booklist, starred review
  • This satisfying and unconventional love story explores the various meanings of the word.

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • Arcos has written a classic story of a budding artist finding out the reality behind the artifice, and does so while keeping a wonderful sense of humor.

    - Booklist
  • Arcos capably probes the mysterious without attempting to solve it as Neruda discovers the difference between crushing on someone he doesn't know and loving someone he does, learning that friendship, too, is a kind of love.

    - Publishers Weekly

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Carrie Arcos earned an MA in creative writing and English literature and writes young-adult fiction. She has taught high school and college English. Her Out of Reach was a finalist for the National Book Award.

About the Narrator

Adenrele Ojo is an actress, dancer, and audiobook narrator, winner of over a dozen Earphones Awards and the prestigious Audie Award for best narration in 2018. She made her on-screen debut in My Little Girl, starring Jennifer Lopez, and has since starred in several other films. She has also performed extensively with the Philadelphia Dance Company. As the daughter of John E. Allen, Jr., founder and artistic director of Freedom Theatre, the oldest African American theater in Pennsylvania, is no stranger to the stage. In 2010 she performed in the Fountain Theatre’s production of The Ballad of Emmett Till, which won the 2010 LA Stage Alliance Ovation Award and the Los Angeles Drama Critics Award for Best Ensemble. Other plays include August Wilson’s Jitney and Freedom Theatre’s own Black Nativity, where she played Mary.