Extended Audio Sample

Download Sirius: A Novel about the Little Dog Who Almost Changed History Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Sirius: A Novel about the Little Dog Who Almost Changed History Audiobook, by Jonathan Crown Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jonathan Crown Narrator: Mark Meadows Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: October 2016 ISBN: 9781508227311
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A highly original, tragicomic novel as seen through Sirius, an extraordinary dog who helps his Jewish family escape from Germany to California, becomes a Hollywood star, and ultimately contributes to Hitler’s downfall.

Levi, a fox terrier, lives with his family in a grand townhouse in Berlin. Each day he enjoys a walk through the neighborhood, where people greet him by name. But the year is 1938, and Berlin is no longer safe for Levi or the Liliencrons, his Jewish owners. They rename him Sirius, after the constellation, to protect him.

One night, Nazi troops storm the city and begin to search houses. Sirius alerts the family, and they manage to flee to California. In his new home, Carl Liliencron becomes a chauffeur and Sirius befriends everyone from Humphrey Bogart and Cary Grant to Rita Hayworth and Jack Warner. He is renamed Hercules and becomes a canine movie star. Little does Sirius know that he’ll soon have to perform his most difficult acting role yet, when through a series of exceptional events as World War II unfolds, he winds up at the right hand of Hitler himself. Can Sirius help the German resistance, derail the Führer, and reunite with his family? Or is the cost of peace too high?

With charisma, heart, and delightfully spry prose, Sirius is an enchanting fairy tale about love and humanity and a roving exploration of a momentous historical moment. Like My Dog Skip and The Artist, this feel-good novel will make you stand up and cheer.

Download and start listening now!

c4y3

Quotes & Awards

  • “Crown’s charming tale is an odyssey in the vein of Black Beauty and Lassie and will no doubt find plenty of fans among animal lovers.”

    Booklist

  • “An elegant, charming, and heartwarming fable…Exuberant and elegant.”

    Vogue

  • “A Forrest Gump-level mishmash of history and fiction…Sentimental without being maudlin…Sirius is a peculiar romp for the ages.”

    Manhattan Book Review

  • “British narrator Mark Meadows puts listeners in the mind and world of Sirius…Meadows takes on different voices and accents for the wide array of characters, even the nonhuman. His German-accented reading can make some names hard to discern but lends a strong sense of place…Meadows’ dialogue conveys the ugliness of Nazi racism, the speech patterns of cinema idols, and non-famous characters made recognizable throughout the story, all leading to a satisfying conclusion.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Mark Meadows is an actor and audiobook narrator. He can be heard on the radio broadcasts of Lost Souls and The Worst Journey in the World, both first aired for BBC Radio. On television, he has appeared as Reverend Wallace in EastEnders. He also has extensive credits as a composer and arranger.