Extended Audio Sample

Download Sins of Our Fathers: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Sins of Our Fathers: A Novel, by Shawn Lawrence Otto Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Shawn Lawrence Otto Narrator: Jim Meskime Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

From the screenwriter of the Oscar-nominated House of Sand and Fog comes a fierce, elegant page-turner about race, money, and the American Dream.

JW is a small-town banker; his specialty, teaching other bankers in towns near Indian reservations how to profit from casino deposits without exposing themselves to risk; his problem, he lost his son in a car accident a year ago, he’s depressed, his wife is leaving him, and he can’t stop gambling.

When he is caught embezzling funds to support his addiction, JW’s boss offers him a choice: he can either accept responsibility and go to prison or use his talents to sabotage a competing Native American banker named Johnny Eagle. With the clock ticking, JW moves into a trailer on the reservation within sight of his prey. But as he befriends Eagle and his son, JW finds that his plan to reclaim his freedom will be more dangerous than he ever could have imagined.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “This stylish novel…resolves in a rousing and satisfying climax. Otto’s wonderfully vivid debut narrative is reminiscent of well-known crime novelist William Kent Kreuger.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “An excellent debut literary thriller. Fans of Larry Watson and Louise Erdrich will enjoy the intricate plot, well-developed characters, and readers who are interested in mysteries with a Minnesota setting will want to try this edgy page-turner.”

    Library Journal

  • “Believable characters and a strong sense of place mark this tale of risk and redemption.”


  • “While JW’s story can stand on its own, Jim Meskimen’s crisp and forceful narration makes it especially engaging. His powerful voice works well for the dialogue. With emotions flying, Meskimen’s narration makes this a book listeners will be talking about long after they’re done listening.”


  • “In Sins of Our Fathers, screenwriter turned novelist Shawn Lawrence Otto has pushed his perfectly crafted characters to their limits. The result is a literary tour de force and a psychological thriller that hooked me from the first page and carried me through to its stunning conclusion.”

    Joel Surnow, creator of 24

  • “Excellent writing and dynamic characters make this novel a page turner that stands above the rest.”

    Robert Alexander, author of The Kitchen Boy

  • A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week for November, 2014 
  • Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Shawn Lawrence Otto is the screenwriter and coproducer of the Oscar-nominated film House of Sand and Fog. He also writes for such top studios as DreamWorks and Lions Gate. His nonfiction has appeared in Rolling Stone, Science, and Salon, among other publications. He lives in Minneapolis.