Extended Audio Sample

Download Shocked: Adventures in Bringing Back the Recently Dead Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Shocked: Adventures in Bringing Back the Recently Dead, by David Casarett Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: David Casarett Narrator: Walter Dixo Publisher: Gildan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $27.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Not too long ago, there was no coming back from death. But now, with revolutionary medical advances, death has become just another serious complication.

As a young medical student, Dr. David Casarett was inspired by the story of a two-year-old girl named Michelle Funk. Michelle fell into a creek and was underwater for over an hour. When she was found she wasn’t breathing, and her pupils were fixed and dilated. That drowning should have been fatal. But after three hours of persistent work, a team of doctors and nurses was able to bring her back. It was a miracle.

If Michelle could come back after three hours of being dead, what about twelve hours? Or twenty-four? What would it take to revive someone who had been frozen for one thousand years? And what does blurring the line between life and death mean for society?

In Shocked, Casarett chronicles his exploration of the cutting edge of resuscitation and reveals just how far science has come. He begins in the eighteenth century, when early attempts at resuscitation involved public displays of barrel rolling, horseback riding (sort of), and blowing smoke up the patient’s various orifices. He then takes us inside a sophisticated cryonics facility in the Arizona desert, a dark room full of hibernating lemurs in North Carolina, and a laboratory that puts mice into a state of suspended animation. The result is a spectacular tour of the bizarre world of doctors, engineers, animal biologists, and cryogenics enthusiasts trying to bring the recently dead back to life.

Fascinating, thought-provoking, and (believe it or not) funny, Shocked is perfect for those looking for a prequel—and a sequel—to Mary Roach’s Stiff or for anyone who likes to ponder the ultimate questions of life and death.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • Shocked is by turns heartbreaking and hilarious. But more than that, it’s an important book that should force an urgent discussion of the hairline border between alive and dead and the incredible ethical (and economic) questions we face as technology redraws that boundary.”

    David Epstein, New York Times bestselling author of The Sports Gene

  • “From the early days of CPR to the latest science on the cryogenic preservation of human life, Casarett takes us on an entertaining exploration into the void that separates life and death. Shocked is a great read.”

    David Dosa, MD, New York Times bestselling author of Making Rounds with Oscar

  • “For most of us, death is irrevocable, except in zombie movies. According to physician David Casarett, however, demise is no long what it used to be. In this fascinating, surprisingly entertaining new book, he explores the new medical science of resurrection. Displaying an often lighthearted tone, he describes how new advances have turned this once fanciful project into a reality. A perfect fit for fans of authors like Mary Roach and Malcolm Gladwell. Editor’s recommendation.”

    Barnes&Noble.com, editorial review

  • “In this laid-back book about electroshocking people back to life, hospice doctor Casarett addresses the ‘financial, ethical, and emotional’ costs of life-saving resuscitation while asking, ‘What happens when we test the boundaries of life?’ He wanders amiably through research on death, resuscitation technologies, hibernation, suspended animation, and hypothermia, lingering longer on the personalities—and stories—behind studies than on the studies themselves…Casarett accessibly reveals the work being done that may enable us to sleep far more and so travel far further—in both place and time—than we ever dreamed.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • Shocked delves into the science of resurrection, looks at current research on resuscitation, and explores future possibilities of prolonging life…Casarett’s inquiry makes for entertaining, informative, and, at times, electrifying reading.”


  • “A fascinating, well-written, and gripping book by a leading physician that takes readers through the incredible journey of resuscitation science. I recommend this book to anyone interested in learning about the new medical ‘miracles’ that are helping humankind fight death and preserve life.”

    Sam Parnia, MD, author of Erasing Death

  • “If you think the line between life and death is a bright one, think again. In Shocked, end-of-life care expert David Casarett takes us on an informative, provocative, and useful tour of the state of the art in attempting to resuscitate the dead and bring them back to life. This is not the stuff of frozen heads, bright lights at the ends of tunnels, and bodies being cloned. It is a review of the best and sometimes worst of what real medicine has to offer, and there is a no more lively, engaging, and sensible guide.”

    Art Caplan, author of Smart Mice, Not So Smart People

  • Shocked is a compelling and fascinating account of the history, current practice, and hopes for the future of resuscitation. I enjoyed it immensely.”

    Mickey Eisenberg, MD, author of Life in the Balance

  • “Dr. Casarett writes from his heart and demystifies the art and science of resuscitation. His humor, poignancy, and intrigue make this book a must-read!”

    Kathy E. Magliato, MD, MBA, FACS, author of Heart Matters

  • A Barnes & Noble Editor’s Recommendation
  • An August 2014 Amazon Best Book of the Month in Nonfiction
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations