Extended Audio Sample

Download Scavenger Reef Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Scavenger Reef Audiobook, by Laurence Shames Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5 4.20 (5 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Laurence Shames Narrator: Richard Ferrone Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Key West Capers Series Release Date: October 2016 ISBN: 9781456125349
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

On best-seller lists all over the country with his witty cynicism and delightfully dark humor, Laurence Shames writes thrillers that his fans endearingly classify as great "Florida noir." In the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen, he gives character to the inhabitants of Florida's steamy underbelly. Artist Augie Silver's friends are ostensibly grief-stricken when he drowns in a shipwreck off Scavenger Reef, but most of them are nervous because his body wasn't found. They have too much to gain by his death. Since his demise, the price of his art is skyrocketing. If Augie isn't dead, he soon will be, if his money-hungry "friends" get their way. Listeners will delight in Richard Ferrone's narrative expertise as he perfectly captures the tongue-in-cheek humor, compelling characters, and snappy dialogue that have become the author's trademark. The combination of humor and suspense is irresistible. Download and start listening now!

c5ws

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Andrea | 9/5/2013

    " This was a great mystery/crime book that I was not expecting to like. I really enjoyed the characters and the story was exciting enough to keep me reading at lunch for a couple of weeks. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Barbara Kennedy | 3/26/2013

    " Loved the characters and locale of this comic suspense novel. Since I spent a little time in the Florida Keys, the locations he mentions are a bit familiar which made it a really fun read for me. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 David | 2/27/2013

    " Nice twist to the artist-returns-from-dead story "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jeffrey Hammerhead | 10/20/2012

    " A funny and interesting read. Love it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carol | 4/3/2012

    " LANGUAGE. The jacket says it's dark humor. Dark yes, humor no!!! Is Augie Silver dead in a boat accident - or not. His "friends" want to know so they can cash in on his paintings. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Laurence Shames

Laurence Shames has been a New York City taxi driver, lounge singer, furniture mover, lifeguard, dishwasher, gym teacher, and shoe salesman. Having failed to distinguish himself in any of those professions, he turned to writing full time in 1976 and has not done an honest day’s work since. Shames has published twenty books and hundreds of magazine articles and essays. Best known for his critically acclaimed series of Key West novels, he has also authored nonfiction and enjoyed considerable, though largely secret, success as a collaborator and ghostwriter. Shames has penned four New York Times bestsellers. These have appeared on four different lists, under four different names, none of them his own. This might be a record.

About the Narrator

Richard Ferrone, an Audie Award winner, has consistently received high praise from critics and fans alike for his audiobook performances for over twenty years. He has performed on and off Broadway and in regional theaters. His television appearances include Law & Order, Against the Law, Guiding Light, and One Life to Live.