Extended Audio Sample

Download Scandal on Rincon Hill Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Scandal on Rincon Hill Audiobook, by Shirley Tallman
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (108 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Shirley Tallman Narrator: Carrington MacDuffie Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Sarah Woolson Mysteries Release Date: May 2017 ISBN: 9781538465011
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolson’s peaceful Rincon Hill home. Sarah is soon on the case, but nineteenth-century San Francisco is rapidly thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city. Engaged in a life or death struggle to find the murderer, Sarah becomes embroiled in the erotic escapades of the town’s infamous high-end brothels, a proper Anglican church, Darwin’s shocking theory of evolution, and a vicious killer who will stop at nothing to achieve a scandalous objective.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_003917

Quotes & Awards

  • “A solid read…Convincing period detail supports an engaging lead who’s a more plausible character than, say, Rhys Bowen’s Molly Murphy.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Tallman’s series features Sarah Woolson, a nineteenth-century San Francisco attorney who defends the downtrodden and oppressed when no one else will take their cases. In this fourth installment, the primary story concerns several inexplicable murders for which Sarah’s clients, Chinese immigrants, are being blamed. Carrington MacDuffie’s portrayal of Sarah is commanding yet personable. Her interpretation of the other characters is well defined and distinct…MacDuffie is particularly adept at age-appropriate portrayals. Listeners should enjoy this entertaining whodunit.”

    AudioFile

  • “Sarah’s fourth neatly marries mystery, romance, and historic San Francisco in an enjoyable tale of the stubbornly independent career woman.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…Will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen.”

    Library Journal (starred review) on The Cliff House Strangler

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 7/28/2013

    " Not the best written book, but light entertainment. I enjoyed the historical references and the attempt at archaic slang, as well as capturing some of the challenges women faced in the late 1880's. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ericka Scott | 5/25/2012

    " An enchanting mystery set in San Francisco in days gone by. I enjoyed the page-turning suspense with a touch of romance and look forward to Ms. Tallman's next installment. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Paulette | 5/14/2012

    " Last one in the series :( "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susie | 8/5/2011

    " Another good Sarah Woolson mystery. Loved the continuing love triangle with Robert and Pierce! I can't decide who I like better. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chelsea | 6/17/2011

    " Another fun mystery featuring my favorite attorney! I really enjoy this series. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Paulette | 3/10/2011

    " Last one in the series :( "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 2/17/2011

    " Not the best written book, but light entertainment. I enjoyed the historical references and the attempt at archaic slang, as well as capturing some of the challenges women faced in the late 1880's. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Shirley Tallman

Shirley Tallman is an award-winning writer with a flair for historical mysteries. She has written a number of successful romance novels and has coauthored several screenplays produced by NBC, ABC, and CBS. She has recently finished a screenplay for Paramount Studios. She lives in Eugene, Oregon. Visit her on the web at www.ShirleyTallman.com.

About the Narrator

Carrington MacDuffie is a voice actor and recording artist who has narrated over two hundred audiobooks, received numerous AudioFile Earphones Awards, and has been a frequent finalist for the Audie Award, including for her original audiobook, Many Things Invisible. Alongside her narration work, she has released a new album of original songs, Only an Angel.