Extended Audio Sample

Download Rooms: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Rooms: A Novel, by Lauren Oliver Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lauren Oliver Narrator: Barbara Caruso, Courtney Shaw, Cynthia Darlow, Elizabeth Evans, Noah Galvin, Orlagh Cassidy Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $24.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A chilling ghost story and much, much more: Rooms is a magnificent gothic fugue on the themes of longing and buried secrets.”

    Lev Grossman, New York Times bestselling author of the Magicians trilogy

  • “Lauren Oliver’s smart and spidery novel Rooms tells the story of a family and its ghosts, all of them sharing the same house. Rooms is mysterious and mournful and incantatory, so well done that it feels that the pages may actually ignite.”

    Emma Straub, New York Times bestselling author of The Vacationers

  • “In Oliver’s moody and mysterious novel, a pair of ghosts inhabits the house of the recently deceased Richard Walker and serves as an invisible chorus to his family’s bleak memories and motivations.”

    O, The Oprah Magazine

  • “Bestselling young-adult novelist Lauren Oliver, author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy, enters new territory with Rooms, her first novel for adults—though spooky supernatural elements remain.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • “In this spectral soap opera, there’s fun to be had as the plot’s many traps are set and then snapped shut.”

    New York Times

  • “[Oliver] turns triumphantly to adult fiction with her latest, Rooms…The last fifty pages of Rooms are as devastatingly emotional as any book I’ve recently encountered… For a thriller, that’s as strong a recommendation as I can make.”

    Dallas Morning News

  • “Oliver skillfully weaves her tales together clearly and cleanly…The real strength of this novel is Oliver’s knack for rendering charmingly flawed characters with real-life problems and complicated relationships…Oliver’s prose is crisp and clean; it gives the book much of its energy.”

    Washington Independent Review of Books

  • “Rubart’s novel takes an amazing, unique look at God. Although the story is fast paced, the author leaves room for contemplation and deeper examination into the reader’s own faith journey. Readers will relate to the main characters and draw parallels.”

    RT Book Reviews (4½ stars, Top Pick!)

  • “YA-bestseller Oliver’s assured adult debut skillfully weaves an innovative ghost story into a nuanced domestic drama…Oliver makes vivid use of both dead and living characters—all of whom are trapped in the past and striving toward a happier existence—to narrate her intricate, suspenseful story…The story culminates with an ending that arrives in dramatic and surprising ways.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “With poetic prose, Oliver weaves a satisfying story arc for each character, and readers will be left with a feeling of peaceful acceptance. Bestselling YA novelist Oliver makes her adult fiction debut with this paranormal tale of family dysfunction, but the author adds a compelling twist with parallel plots.”

    Library Journal

  • “Popular young-adult author Oliver’s first adult novel is an unconventional ghost story. Don’t expect horror or things that go bump in the night. The focus here is not on what the ghosts are but who they have been.”


  • “A smoky and realistic ghost story that subverts cliché…This satisfying novel will be enjoyed by Oliver’s fans and bring new ones to the fold.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “A sensational novel that easily glides between the normal and the paranormal. At times humorous, at times heartbreaking, Rooms is always emotionally resonant and, despite the presence of ghosts, very, very real.”

    Ivy Pochoda, author of Visitation Street

  • “Six familiar voices narrate the newest story from Lauren Oliver…Each chapter is told from the point of view of a different character, members of the Walker family as well as the ghosts that are bound to the rooms of the house. Each narrator matches his or her reading to the voice of the point-of-view character—from proper and slow paced for the voice of Alice, the oldest ghost in the house, to energetic and young for Richard’s granddaughter. The variety of voicings helps the listener keep the stories straight. Each perspective adds a layer to the story, and the journey through the various rooms allows the suspense to build as the secrets of the old house are revealed.”


  • A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week, September 2014
  • A September 2014 LibraryReads Pick
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations