Extended Audio Sample

Download Revolution Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Revolution, by Deborah Wiles Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Deborah Wiles Narrator: Stacey Aswad, Francois Battiste, J. D. Jackson, Robin Miles Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Sixties Trilogy Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

It’s 1964, and Sunny’s town is being invaded. At least, that’s what the adults of Greenwood, Mississippi, are saying. All Sunny knows is that people from up north are coming to help people register to vote. They’re calling it Freedom Summer.

Meanwhile, Sunny can’t help but feel like her house is being invaded, too. She has a new stepmother, a new brother, and a new sister crowding her life, giving her little room to breathe. And things get even trickier when Sunny and her brother are caught sneaking into the local swimming pool—where they bump into a mystery boy whose life is going to become tangled up in theirs.

As she did in her groundbreaking documentary novel Countdown, award-winning author Deborah Wiles uses stories and images to tell the riveting story of a certain time and place—and of kids who, in a world where everyone is choosing sides, must figure out how to stand up for themselves and fight for what’s right.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Accessible and moving, and it will open many eyes to the brutal, not-so-distant past out of which a new standard of fairness and equality arose.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “With elements of family drama and coming-of-age themes that mirror the larger sociopolitical backdrop, Revolution is a book that lingers long after the last page.”

    School Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Freedom Summer in 1964 Mississippi brings both peaceful protest and violence into the lives of two young people…Fifty years later, 1960s words and images still sound and resound in this triumphant middle volume of the author’s Sixties trilogy.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “It’s an ambitious, heady endeavor that succeeds wonderfully in capturing the atmosphere of that pivotal and eventful summer, with the documents offering a broader context.”

    Horn Book (starred review)

  • “Asward narrates Sunny’s chapters with a friendly Southern twang and youthful energy that captures the character perfectly. Battiste provides an equally engaging, and at times solemn and reflective, Raymond. Listeners will be enthralled.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred audio review)

  • “Narrator Stacey Aswad—sounding by turns youthfully petulant, excited, and fearful—captures the spirit of twelve-year-old Sunny…Raymond, an African–American boy who is frustrated with waiting for life in the Jim Crow South to improve, is skillfully portrayed by Francois Battiste’s accurate inflection and pacing. Voices of additional characters, news clips, songs of the Civil Rights movement, and other background material adding to the period authenticity are read by Robin Miles and JD Jackson, among others. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award.”


  • Longlisted for the 2014 National Book Award in Young People's Literature
  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • Winner of the Parents' Choice Award for Historical Fiction
  • Finalist for the 2014 Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize
  • Winner of the 2015 Golden Kite Award for Fiction
  • Chosen as a Jane Addams Children’s Book Award Honor Book for 2015
  • A Publishers Weekly Best Book of 2014 for Children
  • A School Library Journal Best Book of 2014
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations