Extended Audio Sample

Download Reaching Down the Rabbit Hole: A Renowned Neurologist Explains the Mystery and Drama of Brain Disease Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Reaching Down the Rabbit Hole: A Renowned Neurologist Explains the Mystery and Drama of Brain Disease, by Allan H. Ropper, Brian David Burrell Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Allan H. Ropper, Brian David Burrell Narrator: J. Paul Boehmer Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

“Tell the doctor where it hurts.” It sounds simple enough, unless the problem affects the very organ that produces awareness and generates speech. What is it like to try to heal the body when the mind is under attack? In this book, Dr. Allan Ropper and Brian Burrell take the reader behind the scenes at Harvard Medical School’s neurology unit to show how a seasoned diagnostician faces down bizarre, life-altering afflictions. Like Alice in Wonderland, Dr. Ropper inhabits a world where absurdities abound:

• A figure skater whose body has become a ticking time-bomb 
• A salesman who drives around and around a traffic rotary, unable to get off 
• A college quarterback who can’t stop calling the same play 
• A child molester who, after falling on the ice, is left with a brain that is very much dead inside a body that is very much alive 
• A mother of two young girls, diagnosed with ALS, who has to decide whether a life locked inside her own head is worth living

How does one begin to treat such cases, to counsel people whose lives may be changed forever? How does one train the next generation of clinicians to deal with the moral and medical aspects of brain disease? Dr. Ropper and his colleague answer these questions by taking the reader into a rarefied world where lives and minds hang in the balance.

Download and start listening now!

bj1r

Quotes & Awards

  • “A must-read…Ropper and Burrell write with great verve and panache and each chapter reads like a detective story…The narrative is peppered with insights into the scientific method, emphasizing that it’s not the cold, rational, Sherlock Holmes–like deductive process it’s often portrayed to be. This is medical writing at its best; in the tradition of Rouche, Lewis Thomas, and Oliver Sacks.”

    V. S. Ramachandran, New York Times bestselling author of The Tell-Tale Brain

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations