Reaching Down the Rabbit Hole: A Renowned Neurologist Explains the Mystery and Drama of Brain Disease Audiobook, by Allan H. Ropper Play Audiobook Sample

Download Reaching Down the Rabbit Hole: A Renowned Neurologist Explains the Mystery and Drama of Brain Disease Audiobook

Reaching Down the Rabbit Hole: A Renowned Neurologist Explains the Mystery and Drama of Brain Disease Audiobook, by Allan H. Ropper Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
Author: Allan H. Ropper, Brian David Burrell Narrator: Paul Boehmer, Paul Boehmer Publisher: Tantor Audio Audio Length: Release Date: December 2014 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781494578220

Publisher Description

"Tell the doctor where it hurts." It sounds simple enough, unless the problem affects the very organ that produces awareness and generates speech. What is it like to try to heal the body when the mind is under attack? Like Alice in Wonderland, Dr. Allan H. Ropper inhabits a world where absurdities abound: — A figure skater whose body has become a ticking time-bomb — A salesman who drives around and around a traffic rotary, unable to get off — A college quarterback who can’t stop calling the same play — A mother of two young girls, diagnosed with ALS, who has to decide whether a life locked inside her own head is worth living How does one begin to treat such cases, to counsel people whose lives may be changed forever? How does one train the next generation of clinicians to deal with the moral and medical aspects of brain disease? Dr. Ropper and his colleague answer these questions by taking the listener into a rarified world where lives and minds hang in the balance.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “A must-read…Ropper and Burrell write with great verve and panache and each chapter reads like a detective story…The narrative is peppered with insights into the scientific method, emphasizing that it’s not the cold, rational, Sherlock Holmes–like deductive process it’s often portrayed to be. This is medical writing at its best; in the tradition of Rouche, Lewis Thomas, and Oliver Sacks.”

    - V. S. Ramachandran, New York Times bestselling author of The Tell-Tale Brain
  • The author explores a wide variety of conditions, including the exterior degeneration of ALS and the often befuddling symptoms of advanced brain trauma, but he rarely falls into jargon and always keeps the narrative lively and engaging.

    - Kirkus starred review

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Dr. Allan H. Ropper is a Professor at Harvard Medical School and the Raymond D. Adams Master Clinician at Brigham and Women’s Hospital in Boston. He is credited with founding the field of neurological intensive care and counts Michael J. Fox among his patients.

About the Narrators

Paul Boehmer is an American actor best known for his numerous appearances in the Star Trek universe, in addition to Frasier, Judging Amy, Guiding Light, and All My Children. He is a 1992 Masters of Fine Arts graduate of the Professional Theater Training Program at the University of Delaware. As a narrator, Paul has won several AudioFile Earphones Awards as well as an Audie Award.

Paul Boehmer is an American actor best known for his numerous appearances in the Star Trek universe, in addition to Frasier, Judging Amy, Guiding Light, and All My Children. He is a 1992 Masters of Fine Arts graduate of the Professional Theater Training Program at the University of Delaware. As a narrator, Paul has won several AudioFile Earphones Awards as well as an Audie Award.