Extended Audio Sample

Download Ranchero: A Mystery Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Ranchero: A Mystery Audiobook, by Rick Gavin Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (155 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Rick Gavin Narrator: David Carpenter Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Nick Reid Novels Release Date: October 2011 ISBN: 9780307989680
Regular Price: $15.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Repo man Nick Reid had a seemingly simple job to do: talk to Percy Dwayne Dubois— pronounced "Dew-boys," front-loaded and hick specific—about the payments he’s behind on for a flat screen TV, or repossess it. But Percy Dwayne wouldn't give in. Nope, instead he saw fit to go all white-trash philosophical and decided that since the world was stacked against him anyway, he might as well fight it. He hit Nick over the head with a fireplace shovel, tied him up with a length of lamp cord, and stole the mint-condition calypso coral-colored 1969 Ranchero that Nick had borrowed from his landlady. And he took the TV with him on a rowdy ride across the Mississippi Delta.

Nick and his best friend Desmond, fellow repo man in Indianola, Mississippi, have no choice but to go after him. The fact that the trail eventually leads to Guy, a meth cooker recently set up in the Delta after the Feds ran him out of New Orleans, is of no consequence—Nick will do anything to get the Ranchero back. And it turns out he might have to.

An original and ballsy road-trip of a crime novel—most of it in Desmond's ex-wife's Geo—Ranchero is an unforgettable read and a fantastic series debut.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_002829

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dave | 2/11/2014

    " Finished this book for the Madison Murder, Ink book club November choice. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Harold Hubbell | 2/10/2014

    " Can't remember the last time I laughed out loud while reading a book.This was good enough that I read it a second time to make sure I didn't miss anything. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Liz | 2/9/2014

    " As far as murder goes for this Madison Murder, Ink bookclub choice, it was rather light. Only 2 murders in the whole book - one in real time and the other was referenced. But, it was a quick read with interesting characters, and a "ballsy road-trip" to boot. The visuals of 4 grown men in a Geo...and the man stuffed into the truck with his legs hanging v-shapped out...those were rather entertaining. I'm not sure how I feel about the lead man - Nick Reid, but his relationship with his felow repo man and best friend, Desmond, was touchingly believable. I liked that this book didn't feel like the author was making a movie...but that this book could feasibly be made into a tv or movie series. It all depends if the next book follows Nick Reid or not. I would be interested in reading another Rick Gavin book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sam | 1/28/2014

    " This was a Firstreads giveaway. My luck has continued with these giveaways! Gavin takes the reader on a ride through the Delta with nonstop action. His grasp of the culture of his characters and knack for immersing the reader knee deep in this culture is reminiscent of Larry Brown. I recommend this book to any reader looking for a fast paced, fun read and I look forward to upcoming volumes in the series. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Kirstin | 1/25/2014

    " I am a little embarrassed to admit I even read this book. It is clearly written for men, specifically for men who enjoy corny/violent entertainment such as professional wrestling. Perhaps I am being a little bit hypocritical because I have been known to enjoy some pretty silly chic-lit and really when it comes down to it this book is the male version of chic-lit, but man oh man this book just seemed dumb and pointless to me. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jeff | 1/12/2014

    " This guy's a hoot. He's like the Carl Hiaasen of the Mississippi delta. Give Ranchero a try "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sandie | 12/3/2013

    " Loved this book. Gavin knows these Delta dwellers and it shows. Great characters, dialog and setting. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John | 11/18/2013

    " A Fast and Funny read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jane | 11/6/2013

    " fun read--reminds me of evanovich-plum series. where that is over-the-top, fluffy, jersey chick-lit humor, this is over-the top, fluffy, peckerwood dick-lit humor. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Erica | 7/15/2013

    " A humorous "Delta Noir" read that'll appeal to fans of Carl Hiassen, Elmore Leonard's Chili Palmer, Tim Dorsey, and Kinky Friedman. Plus it had me (almost) considering eating a Coney Island from Sonic. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Taylor | 10/19/2012

    " i loved this book. it was very good! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lynne | 6/7/2012

    " What a fun read! I had a ball laughing at the antics and the quirky characters. I enjoyed this fully. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelly | 2/23/2012

    " The Dukes of Hazzard meet Spencer. Funny and slightly hard-boiled at the same time. Good mystery, great dialogue. What a debut! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Homerun2 | 1/11/2012

    " Great read in a unique voice and style. You'll want to read carefully, sopping up the language and cadence of the Mississippi Delta and laughing out loud at the characters and predicaments. A truly original and entertaining book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Deborah | 11/19/2011

    " So, so funny! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jerry Peace | 11/7/2011

    " caricatures can be real fun. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kelley | 10/25/2011

    " Great writing and a hilarious romp, set in the Mississippi Delta. Loved it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chrislin | 10/20/2011

    " Ranchero first off is not a mystery like it says it is but Ranchero is a good book and it is mostly fast paced which is good "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Taylor | 8/27/2011

    " i loved this book. it was very good! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations