Extended Audio Sample

Download Prayers for Sale: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Prayers for Sale: A Novel, by Sandra Dallas Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (7,586 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Sandra Dallas Narrator: Maggi-Meg Reed Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Hennie Comfort is eighty-six and has lived in the mountains of Middle Swan, Colorado, since before it was Colorado. Nit Spindle is just seventeen and newly married. She and her husband have just moved to the high country in search of work.

It’s 1936 and the depression has ravaged the country and Nit and her husband have suffered greatly. Hennie notices the young woman loitering near the old sign outside of her house that promises “Prayers For Sale.” Hennie doesn’t sell prayers, never has, but there’s something about the young woman that she’s drawn to. The harsh conditions of life that each have endured create an instant bond and an unlikely friendship is formed, one in which the deepest of hardships are shared and the darkest of secrets are confessed.

Sandra Dallas has created an unforgettable tale of a friendship between two women, one with surprising twists and turns, and one that is ultimately a revelation of the finest parts of the human spirit.

Download and start listening now!

BK_AREN_000922

Quotes & Awards

  • “Fans of Lee Smith, Sue Monk Kidd, and Kaye Gibbons will love this book.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Dallas is an amazing storyteller with a knack for historical fiction. Her writing is fresh and current even though she writes about the past. Her characters linger in the mind long after the story is finished.”

    Denver Post

  • Selected for the May 2009 Indie Next List
  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A Barnes & Noble Recommends Selection

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Sanz | 2/20/2014

    " 170 pages into this and all I can say is, dull. I'm disappointed because I loved The Persian Pickle Club by Sandra Dallas. I won't be finishing this one, I'm ready to move on to something better. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Jenalyn | 2/19/2014

    " This book had potential, but I found the author's similes incredibly trite, and her use of foreshadowing about the "event she has to take care of" mentioned in every chapter was way over-done. And the main story that connected all the short stories wasn't well-developed. Very disappointing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Lacey | 2/18/2014

    " I really liked Hennie, the "storyteller" of the book. Mountain life was hard and the stories are sad, but noone is exempt from difficulties and it's good to read how people whether them and grow stronger. I recommend this book! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Leslie | 2/15/2014

    " Sweet tale about life in the mountains at the turn of the century. Men working in gold mines, dangerous work, and women buildingcommunity "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations