Extended Audio Sample

Download Pearl in the Sand Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Pearl in the Sand Audiobook, by Tessa Afshar Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.35 out of 54.35 out of 54.35 out of 54.35 out of 54.35 out of 5 4.35 (31 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Tessa Afshar Narrator: Laural Merlington Publisher: Oasis Audio, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2011 ISBN: 9781608148233
Regular Price: $24.49 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Striking beauty comes at a price. Rahab paid it at the age of fifteen when she was sold into prostitution by the one man she loved and trusted: her father. With her keen mind and careful planning she turned heartache into success, achieving independence while still young. And she vowed never again to trust a man. Any man. But God had other plans.

Salmone, a prominent leader of Judah, held in high esteem by all Israel, walked into the emotional turmoil of Rahab’s world. A man of faith, honor, and pride. An enemy. What is a woman with a wrecked past to do when she wants to be loved, yet no longer believes it possible?

The walls of Jericho are only the beginning. The real battle for Rahab will be one of the heart.

Download and start listening now!

BK_OASI_000817

Quotes & Awards

  • “In Pearl in the Sand, Tessa Afshar has created compelling characters that bring new meaning to this well-loved biblical tale.”

    Jill Eileen Smith, bestselling author of Michal and Abigail

  • “This superb debut should appeal to readers who enjoyed Davis Bunn and Janette Oke’s The Centurion’s Wife or Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent.”

    Library Journal

  • “Fantastic research and stellar writing make this one you don’t want to miss.”

    RT Book Reviews

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jen | 2/13/2014

    " What an engaging read. Great character development. I hope Afshar writes more! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Janet | 2/11/2014

    " This is a very sweet love story built around a few verses in the Bible. Don't let the fact that she was a prostitute scare you away from this, the book is very clean. There are no graphic scenes, but some very tender moments. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Angela | 2/7/2014

    " So good! An excellent story of love, redemption, forgiveness, pride, guilt, ... Wonderfully imagined characters. I loved it! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marlene | 2/4/2014

    " I liked this book and it is funny to give it 3 stars and then tell how much I liked it. It was a little cheesy and a story that we already knew yet it was fun to read. It was a little preachy but then I actually wrote down one of the quotes from it. It got a little draggy in places but was actually a quick read. No harm no foul. If you read it you'll probably like this easy quick read and maybe even learn a little something too. I did. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jill | 1/30/2014

    " Great message... I loved learning more about this time period and I could not put this book down... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Roslyn Jordan | 1/22/2014

    " Great read! Entertaining and also faith encouraging. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Brooke Jenkins | 1/19/2014

    " I really enjoyed reading about Rahab's perspective. The book is written in a way that you can really believe that the events in the.book happened in just that way. It also really shed a light on relations between people in that time. There were a lot of great lessons in this book, as well as a lot of talk and.examples of faith. This is a book in which I could definitely read again! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Maribeth | 1/15/2014

    " Fantastic biblical historical fiction and overall an accurate account as the Bible tells it. Overall, it is the story of Rahab but you learn so much more about others too...Joshua, Salmon, Ezra, etc. Highly recommend especially if you're a Francine Rivers fan. Love. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nancy | 1/4/2014

    " I enjoyed this book immensely. Afshar took the biblical accounts of Rahab and brought her story to life. Rahab could have been any "broken" woman, then or now, who discovers her creator. She accepts God and puts her trust in him because she has seen and heard of his miracles. It takes her much more time to learn to accept that he loves her in spite of her life of sin. She must live with the Jews and experience their love in order to understand that God has forgiven her and that she is valuable to Him. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Theresa Robertson | 12/31/2013

    " Having never read a book like this, I was pleasantly surprised by this story. I wish I knew more about this time period. Nevertheless, quite a fascinating foray into Jewish history with very likable characters. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Shauna Bellando | 12/24/2013

    " My new favorite book!!! If you are a fan of The Red Tent you will LOVEEEE this book. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Karen | 12/4/2013

    " I got this free for my Kindle. I felt like the author didn't so much research about the location time period. It was like reading a modern day story except she writes about sandles and tents. It was a quick light read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Candacegray | 10/31/2013

    " Incredible read. Historically, faithwise. excellent writing. Waiting impatiently for the next book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Aleksandra | 9/12/2013

    " This book is so, so good. I think everybody should read it :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Betty | 5/21/2013

    " I give a 5 stars to a book I would read again, loved it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Beccie | 1/22/2013

    " Excellent Christian fiction. I laughed and I cried. What a wonderful story about god's love "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 April | 10/14/2012

    " Started out as an interesting story from the Bible. It quickly turned into: the gruff and imposing, but incredibly handsome man, turns his wife's former life of sin around through his tenderness and patience, helping her to finally heal. Over the top. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rsspadafora | 8/5/2012

    " AMAZING! The worst part of this book was that i finished it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laurie Konikow | 6/24/2012

    " Loved how the writer wove a biblical event with a love story. Kept true to the bible and still a fun read ;) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Teresa Phillips | 3/31/2012

    " I enjoyed the story, however, I found myself noticing the modern phrases or mannerisms that shouldn't have been in the story for that time period or culture. It sort of just stood out. Overall, it was a lovely love story and I'm very glad I read it! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Angie | 2/27/2012

    " This is an amazing book based off people in the bible. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kimberly Moore | 2/7/2012

    " Loved this story of Rahab. Faith, devotion, love...great biblical principles. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sherry | 9/21/2011

    " this was a great book about life during the time of MOses when they were lost in the wilderness. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ammy | 6/9/2011

    " This book was great, but I will warn you up front that it is Christian fiction, so there is a lot of praising God. It is still a good story about boy meets girl and getting over past hurts to enjoy the present. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Wendy | 5/19/2011

    " Wow, I went back to see what else Tessa has, this was a great book and a wonderful author rendition of what happened with Rahab and what happened at Jericho. Bibilcal historical fiction can be cheezy, but this gave a wonderful picture of what could have happened. Loved this! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rsspadafora | 3/27/2011

    " AMAZING! The worst part of this book was that i finished it. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Joe | 3/17/2011

    " 1.5/5
    nicely written. that's why i gave it 2stars "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Karenm | 2/3/2011

    " I felt the storytelling was a bit rushed, the characters not as compelling as I had hoped, however, there are still powerful lessons of forgiving, not judging, humility...so overall, I truly liked the book "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jane | 1/3/2011

    " A story that will touch your heart - this is a book that will gain a permanent place on your bookshelf. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michelle | 1/3/2011

    " One of the best books I've ever had the pleasure of reading. It was a unique love story that sprang out of the bible story of Rahab the innkeeper (prostitute) and Salmone, one of the leaders of Israel. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ellyrock | 12/8/2010

    " Wonderfully written book. It's very historically accurate and a must read. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Tessa Afshar was voted New Author of the Year by the Family Fiction sponsored Reader’s Choice Award 2011 for her novel Pearl in the Sand. She was born in Iran, lived there for the first fourteen years of her life, and attended an English boarding school for girls before moving to the United States permanently. Her conversion to Christianity in her twenties changed the course of her life forever. Tessa holds an MDiv from Yale University where she served as cochair of the Evangelical Fellowship at the Divinity School. She has spent the last twelve years in full- and part-time Christian work.

About the Narrator

Laural Merlington is an Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator with over two hundred titles to her credit. An Audie Award nominee, she has also directed over one hundred audiobooks. She teaches college in her home state of Michigan.