Extended Audio Sample

Download Pale Horses Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Pale Horses, by Jassy Mackenzie Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jassy Mackenzie Narrator: Justine Eyr Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Jade de Jong Investigations Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

At first, the case appears to be one of simple misadventure. Sonet van Rensburg, a base jumper, falls to her death while attempting to parachute off a newly built sixty-five-story Sandton skyscraper. But Sonet’s jumping partner Chris Theron insists that this was no accident, and he hires private investigator Jade de Jong to uncover the truth. 

Glad of the distraction from her conflicted and seemingly doomed relationship with police superintendent David Patel, Jade immerses herself in the case. She discovers that Sonet worked for a charity that helped impoverished communities become self-supporting farming units. Sonet’s ex-husband, though, has nothing good to say about his wife or the work she has done. He tells Jade that Sonet’s efforts were a useless waste of money and that the farming projects were not sustainable.

When Jade travels out to the Siyabonga community’s farm in Limpopo, hoping to prove him wrong, she finds it not just abandoned but razed to the ground. Digging deeper for answers about where the residents went and why they left their fertile valley, Jade finds out that one man died from a terminal illness. Then, to her concern, she learns about more sicknesses and more deaths—a fatal but unknown disease that swept through the entire community.

Jade then discovers that Sonet’s sister Zelda, a journalist, was investigating this mystery too. Zelda had discovered that one woman and her son had survived the plague and had left the area, and she was doing her best to track that woman down so she could hear her story. 

But now Zelda is missing, and Jade will have to race against time in order to find her. A deadly harvest has been gathered in, and the only person who knows the real truth about it has been forced to become collateral in its trade.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A terrifying ride into a world of corporate greed, potential terrorism, and the ways that South Africa’s future still resonates with its brutal past…Mackenzie, who writes with chilly fervor, plunges the reader into a nightmare world that nonetheless offers the possibility of redemption.”

    Richmond Times-Dispatch

  • “Mackenzie’s shrewd plotting is enlivened by her sharp eye for both Johannesburg’s high life and its desperate poverty.”

    Seattle Times

  • “[Jade de Jong] is tough as nails and persistent, despite the fact that every clue leads to a dark and twisted place…Pale Horses is sure to appeal to fans of Liza Marklund, Zoe Sharp, and Mackenzie’s fellow South African crime writer Deon Meyer.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Gripping…As the novel hurtles toward a devastating climax, Mackenzie pumps up the suspense.”

    Publishers Weekly

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Jassy Mackenzie was born in Rhodesia and moved to South Africa when she was eight years old. She loves the energy, danger, and excitement of Johannesburg and believes there is no better place for a thriller writer to live. She herself has been hijacked at gunpoint outside her home and had her car taken from her by force. She is thirty-nine years old and lives in Kyalami with her wonderful partner Dion, two horses, and two cats.