Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance Audiobook, by Gyles Brandreth Play Audiobook Sample

Download Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance Audiobook

Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance Audiobook, by Gyles Brandreth Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $29.95 Add to Cart
Author: Gyles Brandreth Narrator: Bill Wallis Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Audio Length: Series:The Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries Release Date: November 2011 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781609985714

Publisher Description

London, 1889. Oscar Wilde, celebrated poet, wit, playwright, and raconteur is the literary sensation of his age. All Europe lies at his feet. Yet when he chances across the naked corpse of sixteen-year-old Billy Wood, posed by candlelight in a dark stifling attic room, he cannot ignore the brutal murder. With the help of fellow author Arthur Conan Doyle he sets out to solve the crime—but it is Wilde’s unparalleled access to all degrees of late Victorian life, from society drawing rooms to the underclass, that will prove the decisive factor in the investigation of what turns out to be a series of brutal killings. Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance is a classic murder mystery in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Arthur Conan Doyle.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “A witty fin de siècle entertainment, and the rattlingly elegant dialogue is peppered with witticisms uttered by Wilde well before he ever thought of putting them into his plays.”

    - Sunday Times (London)
  • “Genius…Wilde has sprung back to life in this thrilling and richly atmospheric new novel…Magnificent…an unforgettable shocker about sex and vice, love and death.”

    - Sunday Express
  • “This excellent novel…I’d be staggered if, by the end of 2007, you’d read many better whodunits. Brandreth demonstrates supremely measured skill as a storyteller.”

    - Nottingham Post
  • “A first-class stunner…[A] wow of a history-mystery…Fascinating.”

    - Booklist (starred review)
  • “Oscar Wilde makes a stylish sleuth in this clever series debut.”

    - Publishers Weekly
  • “Brandreth…spins a tale of human frailty and self-preservation…a promising start.”

    - Library Journal
  • “Brandreth’s accomplishment is evident in the force of Wilde’s personality, which fairly leaps off the page…readers will delight in the effortless characterization and deft portrait of late-Victorian England.”

    - Stephanie Barron, author of Jane and the Barque of Frailty

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Gyles Brandreth is a prominent BBC broadcaster, theater producer, novelist, and biographer. He has written bestselling biographies of Britain’s royal family and an acclaimed diary of his years as a Member of Parliament. He lives in London with his family.

About the Narrator

Bill Wallis has performed in over two hundred radio series and plays, while among his numerous productions for the Royal Shakespeare Company are The Alchemist, The Master Builder, and Twelfth Night. He is also a prolific film and television actor, having made numerous appearances in such productions as Keep the Aspidistra Flying, Midsomer Murders, Bad Girls, Doctors, Poirot, and as Dr. Nick MacKenzie in Dangerfield.