Extended Audio Sample

Download Orphan Island Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Orphan Island Audiobook, by Laurel Snyder Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Laurel Snyder Narrator: Kim Mai Guest Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2017 ISBN: 9780062698124
Regular Price: $21.99 Add to Cart
— or —
BEST PRICE!
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Lois Lowry’s The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

On the island, everything is perfect. The sun rises in a sky filled with dancing shapes; the wind, water, and trees shelter and protect those who live there; when the nine children go to sleep in their cabins, it is with full stomachs and joy in their hearts. And only one thing ever changes: on that day, each year, when a boat appears from the mist upon the ocean carrying one young child to join them—and taking the eldest one away, never to be seen again.

Today’s Changing is no different. The boat arrives, taking away Jinny’s best friend, Deen, replacing him with a new little girl named Ess, and leaving Jinny as the new Elder. Jinny knows her responsibility now—to teach Ess everything she needs to know about the island, to keep things as they’ve always been. But will she be ready for the inevitable day when the boat will come back—and take her away forever from the only home she’s known?

Download and start listening now!

bjwl

Quotes & Awards

  • “Kim Mai Guest captivates listeners with her narration of Snyder’s wondrous story…Guest incorporates a different tone and pace for each of the story’s nine (later 10) consistently portrayed characters, adjusting her voice to embody a variety of ages, personalities, and attitudes. As the mystery of the island unfolds, Guest brings Jinny and Ess’s many adventures and mishaps to life. Narrating from Jinny’s perspective, Guest’s tone slowly changes over the course of the story after Jinny makes a decision that brings chaos to the orphans’ home. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    AudioFile

  • “A wondrous book, wise and wild and deeply true.”

    Kelly Barnhill, Newbery Medal–winning author

  • “Through the precocious Jinny, Snyder delivers a contemplative commentary on the transition from childhood to adolescence and from ignorance to awareness…The dissonance Jinny feels is universal, and Snyder’s skillful storytelling and lyrical writing heighten its impact.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “The premise is intriguing, the writing is strong, and the tight pacing will keep readers fully engaged…For readers who are interested in dystopian landscapes.”

    School Library Journal

  • “This charming, engrossing tale set in a vividly realized world is expertly paced and will appeal to fans of wilderness adventure stories and character-driven relationship novels alike.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • AudioFile Earphones Award Winner
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Laurel Snyder is a poet, essayist, and author of picture books and novels for children, including Orphan Island, The Longest Night, Bigger than a Bread Box, and Seven Stories Up. She is also the editor of the nonfiction anthology Half/Life: Jew-ish Tales from Interfaith Homes, a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, and a commentator for NPR’s All Things Considered.

About the Narrator

Kim Mai Guest is an award-winning voice actor for audiobooks and video games. She can also be heard on television shows, such as G.I. Joe: Renegades, Batman: the Brave and the Bold, and Avatar, and in movies such asChill Out Scooby Doo and Dead Space: Aftermath. Her video game work includes Metal Gear Solid, Final Fantasy, and The Lord of the Rings.