One More River Audiobook, by John Galsworthy Play Audiobook Sample

One More River Audiobook

One More River Audiobook, by John Galsworthy Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Frederick Davidson Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 6.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 4.50 hours at 2.0x Speed Series: The Forsyte Saga Release Date: January 2006 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781483086682

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

31:14 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

07:18 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

13:45 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by John Galsworthy: > View All...

Publisher Description

In John Galsworthy’s last written novel, the conclusion of the final trilogy in his epic Forsyte Chronicles, Dinny Charwell is recovering steadily from her disastrous late love affair while now it is her sister, Clare, who is in trouble.

After just eighteen months of marriage, Clare has fled from her highly esteemed but sadistic husband, Gerald, in Ceylon and boarded a ship back to England. On the boat, she meets a charming but penniless expatriate named Tony Croom, who falls madly in love with her. They develop a close but platonic relationship, unaware that Clare’s husband has set detectives on her. When Clare refuses to return to her husband, he accuses her of adultery with Tony in a highly public divorce court. Though Clare wants nothing more than to divorce Gerald, she must fight the false accusation to defend her family’s honor.

Download and start listening now!

"A very satisfying ending to the series. Beautifully written, as always, and quite funny at times. Galsworthy always cuts to the heart of the matter, perfectly. "It was very restful, except that one ached a bit because it was green and beautiful. Queer, that 'beauty' ache!""

— Sara (4 out of 5 stars)


  • “A social satire of epic proportions and one that does not suffer by comparison with Thackeray’s Vanity Fair…[A] comedy of manners, convincing both in its fidelity to life and as a work of art.”

    — New York Times
  • “If Galsworthy devoted himself to writing prose, David Case devoted himself to reading it out loud…Case threw himself passionately into every part, playing women so convincingly that I remember checking the audiobook box once to remind myself of the narrator’s gender…He and Galsworthy can both look back across the River Styx with a shared sense that theirs was a job well done.”

    — AudioFile
  • “This posthumous work is one of the best of the author’s novels.”

    — Literary Digest, Vol. 116

One More River Listener Reviews

Overall Performance: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5 (4.50)
5 Stars: 1
4 Stars: 1
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Narration: 0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 (0.00)
5 Stars: 0
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Story: 0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 (0.00)
5 Stars: 0
4 Stars: 0
3 Stars: 0
2 Stars: 0
1 Stars: 0
Write a Review
  • Overall Performance: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " Enjoyed this book. Clare runs away from a bad marriage & Dinny 'locks her heart away'. The family rally round to help. Set in the year 1932 the background describes living in the Depression. "

    — Rita, 5/29/2013
  • Overall Performance: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

    " Enjoyed this a lot despite not have read preceeding forsyte saga. A bit baffled by some 1930s abreviations - what is T.C.R as in T.C.R., bridge golf and the modernities? "

    — Pete, 3/12/2012

About John Galsworthy

John Galsworthy (1867–1933), English novelist and playwright, went to Oxford to study law but turned to literature after he met Joseph Conrad on a voyage. The Man of Property (1906), the first of the Forsyte Chronicles, established his reputation. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1932.

About Frederick Davidson

Frederick Davidson (1932–2005), also known as David Case, was one of the most prolific readers in the audiobook industry, recording more than eight hundred audiobooks in his lifetime, including over two hundred for Blackstone Audio. Born in London, he trained at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art and performed for many years in radio plays for the British Broadcasting Company before coming to America in 1976. He received AudioFile’s Golden Voice Award and numerous Earphones Awards and was nominated for a Grammy for his readings.