Extended Audio Sample

Download One Death, Nine Stories Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample One Death, Nine Stories Audiobook, by Marc Aronson Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Marc Aronson, Charles R. Smith Narrator: Dion Graham, Christina Traister Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2014 ISBN: 9781491502822
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Nicholas, Kevin. Age 19. Died at York Hospital, July 19, 2012. Kev's the first kid their age to die. And now, even though he's dead, he's not really gone. Even now his choices are touching the people he left behind. Rita Williams-Garcia follows one aimless teen as he finds a new life in his new job—at the mortuary. Ellen Hopkins reveals what two altar boys (and one altar girl) might get up to at the cemetery at night. Will Weaver turns a lens on Kevin's sister as she collects his surprising effects—and makes good use of them. Here, in nine stories, we meet people who didn't know Kevin, friends from his childhood, his ex-girlfriend, his best friend, all dealing with the fallout of his death. Being a teenager is a time for all kinds of firsts—first jobs, first loves, first good-byes, firsts that break your heart and awaken your soul. It's an initiation of sorts, and it can be brutal. But on the other side of it is the rest of your life. Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “There are plenty of dots to connect and introspection from adolescents on the precipice of something new and unknown.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Fascinating.”


  • “The death of Kevin, at once charismatic and tortured, is at the epicenter of this collection of short stories by nine well-known authors for teens, exploring the lives of his peers, acquaintances and family as it reveals how each of them is affected…Complex and emotionally demanding, this collection aims for and will resonate with serious readers of realistic fiction.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “The talents of the writers, including Rita Garcia-Williams, Ellen Hopkins, A. S. King, Will Weaver, and Nora Raleigh Baskin, keep the stories consistently moving and authentically voiced…Useful as a model for a group creative-writing exercise, this would also make for therapeutic reading and discussion in the aftermath of a tragedy.”

    Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

  • “All nine, well-told, stories bring Kevin to life, weaving the separate main characters into one powerful novel. The authors traded ideas and bits of their individual plots through their many revisions, making this a compelling, vibrant read. The message of hope and finding one’s way is subtly woven into all the stories.”

    Children’s Literature

  • “Nine well-written vignettes are woven together to create a powerful coming-of-age story…The chapters are told from the view point of the individual teenagers. Not only do they remember Kevin, but they also become introspective about themselves and how they fit in with their friends and families. They begin to see that people are all connected, and words and actions have an impact on others. While this is not an uplifting story, it is a powerful read for older adolescents as they navigate the muddy waters of growing up. This novel would be a great addition when teaching word choice, character development, point of view, and theme.”


  • “Dion Graham reads the parts of the male characters…Graham’s portrayal of Morris is dispassionate, and he affects a different distanced tone as one of Kevin’s friends recounts an initiation ritual. Christina Traister reads the female characters’ stories with more emotion…The stories, largely bleak and dark, form a disturbing, complete portrait of Kevin and the characters in the linked stories.”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Marc Aronson

Marc Aronson is an editor and author of many award-winning books for young people, including Master of Deceit: J. Edgar Hoover and America in the Age of Lies and Pick-Up Game, which he coedited with Charles R. Smith Jr.

About the Narrators

Dion Graham, from HBO’s The Wire, also narrates The First 48 on A&E. Winner of more than a dozen Earphones Awards and the prestigious Audie Award for best narration, he has performed on Broadway, off Broadway, internationally, in films, and in several hit television series. His performances have been praised as thoughtful and compelling, vivid and full of life.

Christina Traister, Earphones Award–winning narrator, has worked nationally as a professional actor for over fifteen years with a career focusing on classical theater. She teaches acting, voice, and stage combat in the Department of Theatre at Michigan State University.