Download Old Records Never Die: One Man’s Quest for His Vinyl and His Past Audiobook

Old Records Never Die: One Man’s Quest for His Vinyl and His Past Audiobook, by Eric Spitznagel Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Eric Spitznagel Narrator: Ramiz Monsef Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2016 ISBN: 9781504691611
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $19.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

High Fidelity meets Killing Yourself to Live in this memoir of one man’s search for his lost record collection.

As he finds himself within spitting distance of middle age, journalist Eric Spitznagel feels acutely the loss of … something. Freedom? Maybe. Coolness? Could be. The records he sold in a financial pinch? Definitely. To find out for sure, he sets out on a quest to find the original vinyl artifacts from his past. Not just copies. The exact same records: the Bon Jovi record with his first girlfriend’s phone number scrawled on the front sleeve, the KISS Alive II he once shared with his little brother, the Replacements Let It Be he’s pretty sure, twenty years later, would still smell like weed.

As he embarks on his hero’s journey, he reminisces about the actual records, the music, and the people he listened to it with—old girlfriends, his high school pals, and, most poignantly, his father and his young son. He explores the magic of music and memory as he interweaves his adventures in record culture with questions about our connection to our past, whether we can ever recapture it, and whether we would want to if we could.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The perfect combination of a vinyl completist’s dream and nightmare.”

    Patton Oswalt, New York Times bestselling author

  • “When he searches for the records he lost and sold, Spitznagel is trying to return to a tangible past, and he details that process with great sensitivity and impact.”

    Dave Eggers, New York Times bestsellling author

  • Calling someone’s work Nick Hornby-like is a bit cliché, but Spitznagel gives high fidelity to Hornby’s feel for music and its relationship to life.”

    New York Post

  • “It’s a classic, High Fidelity-esque revelation that has Spitznagel in the midst of a ‘what does it all mean?’ moment wherein he begins exploring what-if situations and finding that things often pan out just as they should.”

    Pop Matters

  • “Think of it as an updated version of High Fidelity.”

    Pause and

  • “Spitznagel knows that a good story can sometimes lead to a greater truth.”


  • “Ramiz Monsef’s perfect everyman voice—resonant with the inflections of old-time political hacks and old school comedians—couldn’t be more well suited to the task. Its air of righteous indignation and seasoned wariness is the perfect vehicle for these vinyl memories.”


  • “A funny and heartfelt memoir about music collecting that gives birth to a new branch of social science: Gen-X archaeology.”

    Neal Pollack, author of Alternadad

  • “A touching exploration of loss: of opportunities, of loved ones, of the ability to even remotely discern what’s hip. Hilarious and heartfelt, this is a book for anyone who has ever spent entire years of their lives haunting record stores.”

    Jancee Dunn, author of But Enough about Me

  • A 2016 Amazon Best Books of the Year So Far Selection for Humor & Entertainment
  • A 2016 Hudson Booksellers Best Book Award Winner of Nonfiction

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Eric Spitznagel, author, humorist, and journalist, writes the Compare and Contrast column every Sunday for the New York Times Magazine. He is a frequent contributor to the Believer, Esquire, Playboy, Details, and Men’s Health, among many other publications. He has written and coauthored several books, including The Junk Food Companion, Cigar Asphyxianado, and A Guy’s Guide to Dating.

About the Narrator

Ramiz Monsef has spent several seasons as a member of Oregon Shakespeare Festival’s acting company, and he is the playwright of OSF’s 2013 production The Unfortunates. He has also appeared onstage in New York and in numerous regional productions.