Extended Audio Sample

Download Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle, by Brian Dennis, Kirby Larson, Mary Nethery Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (617 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Brian Dennis, Kirby Larson, Mary Nethery Narrator: Christian Rumme Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $17.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs’ life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis. The two formed a fast friendship, made stronger by Dennis’ willingness to share his meals, offer a warm place to sleep, and give Nubs the kind of care and attention he had never received before. Nubs became part of Dennis’ human “pack” until duty required the Marines to relocate a full seventy miles away—without him. Nubs had no way of knowing that Marines were not allowed to have pets.

So began an incredible journey that would take Nubs through a freezing desert filled with danger to find his friend and would lead Dennis on a mission that would touch the hearts of people all over the world.

Nubs and Dennis will remind listeners that friendship has the power to cross deserts, continents, and even species.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “An inspiring gift for anyone who believes in the power of a dog’s love.”

    Barnes & Noble, editorial review

  • “The moving story of the Marine major’s friendship with a wild dog he befriended at a border fort in Iraq…should appeal to fans of Owen and Mzee and other stories of animals that triumph against the odds.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “A feel-good entry in the current trend of inspirational true animal stories.”

    School Library Journal

  • “One to warm your heart…this book tells a story of hope, of how an act of kindness is never forgotten. A great read-aloud.”

    Children’s Literature

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Dolly | 2/19/2014

    " This is a heartwarming story about a dog who adopted a Marine and found his way from Iraq to America. It's a fairly lengthy tale for a children's book and younger children may become bored by it. But otherwise, it's a good story and who doesn't love a happy ending? "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Tatiana | 2/11/2014

    " This is the story of plucky and courageous Iraqi dog who befriends a group of Marines, namely Major Brian Dennis. This dog demonstrates such fierce loyalty and courageous, that you immediately become invested in his welfare and survival. Nubs the dog, an adopted pet by a band of U.S. Marines, shows why these military men could not give up on him: "Nubs trekked mile after treacherous mile across the desert, shivering through frozen days and nights. There was little to eat and even less to drink. With barely a moment's rest, Nubs pushed on, fighting his way through territories fiercely protected by wolves and wild dogs." I will not tell you why Nubs began walking miles, or how it turned out because one must read this beautiful true story in order to appreciate the humble and loving qualities of man's best friend. This book is highly recommended for dog lovers, and for students grades 2-4, and for students looking for a quality biography. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Justin | 2/5/2014

    " Even though this is a childrens book I wanted to read it because I am a huge dog lover. The story is touching, and very real. I would definitely recommend this for any parents and children who love dogs. The content gives children a sense of the reality that is our world but is in no way inappropriate or graphic. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Marianna | 2/3/2014

    " A book about a dog that succeeds agains all odds. What more could one ask for? Have a box of tissue handy if you are the sentimental type. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Brian Dennis is a major in the Marines. He and his dog Nubs live in San Diego.