Extended Audio Sample

Download Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle Audiobook, by Brian Dennis Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (617 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Brian Dennis, Mary Nethery, Kirby Larson Narrator: Christian Rummel Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2009 ISBN: 9781600248719
Regular Price: $17.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs’ life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis. The two formed a fast friendship, made stronger by Dennis’ willingness to share his meals, offer a warm place to sleep, and give Nubs the kind of care and attention he had never received before. Nubs became part of Dennis’ human “pack” until duty required the Marines to relocate a full seventy miles away—without him. Nubs had no way of knowing that Marines were not allowed to have pets.

So began an incredible journey that would take Nubs through a freezing desert filled with danger to find his friend and would lead Dennis on a mission that would touch the hearts of people all over the world.

Nubs and Dennis will remind listeners that friendship has the power to cross deserts, continents, and even species.

Download and start listening now!

BK_HACH_000368

Quotes & Awards

  • “An inspiring gift for anyone who believes in the power of a dog’s love.”

    Barnes & Noble, editorial review

  • “The moving story of the Marine major’s friendship with a wild dog he befriended at a border fort in Iraq…should appeal to fans of Owen and Mzee and other stories of animals that triumph against the odds.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “A feel-good entry in the current trend of inspirational true animal stories.”

    School Library Journal

  • “One to warm your heart…this book tells a story of hope, of how an act of kindness is never forgotten. A great read-aloud.”

    Children’s Literature

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dolly | 2/19/2014

    " This is a heartwarming story about a dog who adopted a Marine and found his way from Iraq to America. It's a fairly lengthy tale for a children's book and younger children may become bored by it. But otherwise, it's a good story and who doesn't love a happy ending? "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tatiana | 2/11/2014

    " This is the story of plucky and courageous Iraqi dog who befriends a group of Marines, namely Major Brian Dennis. This dog demonstrates such fierce loyalty and courageous, that you immediately become invested in his welfare and survival. Nubs the dog, an adopted pet by a band of U.S. Marines, shows why these military men could not give up on him: "Nubs trekked mile after treacherous mile across the desert, shivering through frozen days and nights. There was little to eat and even less to drink. With barely a moment's rest, Nubs pushed on, fighting his way through territories fiercely protected by wolves and wild dogs." I will not tell you why Nubs began walking miles, or how it turned out because one must read this beautiful true story in order to appreciate the humble and loving qualities of man's best friend. This book is highly recommended for dog lovers, and for students grades 2-4, and for students looking for a quality biography. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Justin | 2/5/2014

    " Even though this is a childrens book I wanted to read it because I am a huge dog lover. The story is touching, and very real. I would definitely recommend this for any parents and children who love dogs. The content gives children a sense of the reality that is our world but is in no way inappropriate or graphic. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Marianna | 2/3/2014

    " A book about a dog that succeeds agains all odds. What more could one ask for? Have a box of tissue handy if you are the sentimental type. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kaye | 2/1/2014

    " Cried. Nubs is a tortured german shephard who is cared for by some marines. Nubs follows the marine, sent on a mission, across hundreds of miles of desert to be with his friends. The marines save up the money and send Nubs home to thte US. A very touching true story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kendall | 1/27/2014

    " A true story of a dog befriended by a soldier in Iraq. My son loves it; Missouri school kids rated it the best book in the Show Me Readers category in 2012. I like the mixed-media type format of the book as well as the photographs that bring the story to life. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Katie Darrin | 1/20/2014

    " Such a heartwarming story! I get choked up every time I read this book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mj | 12/22/2013

    " sweet story, sweet book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susan Kilbride | 12/13/2013

    " Great kids book. Awesome story of love and devotion "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cynthia | 12/12/2013

    " Golden Sower Primary Award Winner - I had not read this one and I cried through the entire book! Do not miss this heart wrenching story with an amazing ending. This will be another book referred to at LV as "one that Mrs. S can't talk about without crying." "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rainey | 12/4/2013

    " this made me bawl in the book store. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 11/29/2013

    " A great story of saving a dog. I was teary eyed throughout, and my kids really liked that nubs finds a home. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lauren | 11/27/2013

    " As the partial owner of an Afgani rescue pup, I think this book is a great way to make the plight of war-dogs known to more people. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer Little | 11/16/2013

    " Dog lovers will love this book, and a child who wants a dog should read this to their parent. Their hearts might melt a little. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jessica | 11/12/2013

    " This is such a sweet story! I picked it up to pass the time while waiting fire the buses at school to clear out. So sweet! It almost made me want a dog. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Katie Lee | 5/24/2013

    " As an animal lover, I really appreciate this story. Nubs was a dog living in Iraq and was rescued by an American soldier. Nub's long and difficult journey is truly heartwarming and would be perfect to share with any child. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sandy | 2/10/2013

    " Carolyn had me read it at work and I cried a few times during the story. Excellent read, remarkable dog, loved the pictures too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jenn | 1/16/2013

    " This book will circ like mad. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Catherine | 6/1/2012

    " Very sweet story of an Iraq war dog. Made me tear up! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jen | 4/2/2012

    " Great story, but the book could have been better! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Courtney | 2/15/2012

    " Makes me cry every time. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Laura | 1/16/2012

    " Such an adorable story with a very happy ending. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Addy | 1/7/2012

    " I read this book last year and I didn't realize it was by Kirby Larson:-) My goal is to read all of Kirby Larson's books because she is my favorite author who writes my favorite gaunra-type and is very good at it! Very sweet story,btw! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Megan | 10/8/2011

    " This is the true story of a stray desert dog who attached himself to a marine serving in Iraq. Dog lovers will love this one. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cathy Blackler | 8/23/2011

    " Dog lovers of all ages will fall in love with Nubs and Brian. A moving tale of the power of friendship. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Addy | 6/19/2011

    " I read this book last year and I didn't realize it was by Kirby Larson:-) My goal is to read all of Kirby Larson's books because she is my favorite author who writes my favorite gaunra-type and is very good at it! Very sweet story,btw! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Anna | 4/29/2011

    " Made me cry...I am a sucker for touching animal stories. I loved the photographs and layout of the book. Great story for kids and adults alike. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lillian | 4/25/2011

    " This is a strong piece of nonfiction which could be used as a "memoir moment," in a discussion/unit about war or animals, or even physical abilities/differences. The photographs help this book have a stronger impact and it may open students' minds about people with physical differences. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Emily | 3/26/2011

    " This is such a touching story that I just know my students (dog fans) will adore! I think this true story of an Iraqi dog of war is an insight into the War of Iraq, and also illustrates the power of friendship.
    This book was nominated for the 2011 Colorado Children's Book Award. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Susan | 3/22/2011

    " Great kids book. Awesome story of love and devotion "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jacquie | 1/21/2011

    " Great survival, hero, animal, war story that's true. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jodi | 1/17/2011

    " I tries to read this story out loud to my kids at the bookstore, I had to stop three times to gain control of myself. It is a must read, just grab a tissue and read to yourself!! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tarra | 12/13/2010

    " Read this with B/C tonight. Great story!!! It's one that circulates in the elementary library often. LOVED IT. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Teresa | 11/22/2010

    " Another great dog story. Who can resist? A dog is befriended by troops in the Middle East and they rally to find a way to send him to the U.S. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Brian Dennis is the major in the Marines. He and Nubs live in San Diego.
About the Narrator

Christian Rummel has recorded many audiobooks in a variety of genres and won two AudioFile Earphones Awards. As an actor, he has worked with Theatre for a New Audience and Clubbed Thumb and also appeared in several episodes of Law & Order.