Extended Audio Sample

Download Not Working: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Not Working: A Novel, by Lisa Owens Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lisa Owens Narrator: Tuppence Middleton Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2016 ISBN: 9780451484161
Regular Price: $15.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the tradition of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’ Diary and Jennifer Close’s Girls in White Dresses comes an incisive and sparkling debut that speaks to the heart of a new generation not trying to have it all but hoping to make sense of it all.

Claire Flannery has just quit her office job, hoping to take some time to discover her real passion. The problem is, she’s not exactly sure how to go about finding it. Without the distractions of a regular routine, Claire confronts the best and worst parts of herself: the generous, attentive part that visits her grandmother for tea and cooks special meals for her boyfriend Luke, and the part that she feels will never measure up and makes regrettable comments after too many glasses of wine. What emerges is a candid, moving portrait of a clear-eyed heroine trying to forge her own way, a wholly relatable character whose imperfections and uncanny observations highlight what makes us all different and yet inescapably linked.

Download and start listening now!

bst4

Quotes & Awards

  • Ruefully funny . . . features a kind of millennial Bridget Jones whose red wine–and–TED Talk–fueled pursuit of a higher purpose in life leads to hard truths and hangovers. Vogue
     
  • Everyone’s been talking about this book. . . . As Claire experiments and explores herself, [Lisa] Owens creates a fantastic journey of self-discovery. Charming and funny, this read is simply delightful. Bustle
     
    “In this laugh-out-loud debut, Claire Flannery is a lost soul who quits her day job to discover her true passion. In taking a hard look at her own character, Claire finds that her loveable qualities are sometimes squashed by mistakes, like the evenings she blurts inappropriate remarks after too many glasses of wine. Owens’s story is a smart, relatable and delicious debut.
  • It’s no mean feat to fashion a novel out of the stuff of everyday life. . . . Fortunately, Owens is quite a writer. . . . Not Working works because there is lots going on beneath its placid, ordinary surface. . . . With this funny, serious debut, Lisa Owens has proved that she’s one to watch. The New Statesman
  • Lots of people say they laugh out loud when they read a book they love. But in the case of Not Working, I really did laugh out loud, often and raucously. Claire Flannery is quite simply the most charming lost soul I’ve ever met. If you’ve ever felt like an impostor in your own life, been driven crazy by your mother, or worried that you were out of step with your friends, Not Working is your next great read. Elisabeth Egan, author of A Window Opens
     
  • Lisa Owens’s eye for life’s mundane details makes for a novel that is hilarious, sharp, and true. Not Working is simply delicious. Kaui Hart Hemmings, author of The Descendants and The Possibilities
  • There are sharp observations about generational change, particularly on the topic of work. . . . The novel is a light read but it raises some timely issues. . . . A secure job with a future is not that easy to find, as Claire’s comic and compelling tale serves to show. This book offers a form of catharsis for anyone who has felt that they are not quite doing their job right. . . . It is soothing to find you are not the only one noodling along in your career. Financial Times
     
  • Stellar . . . [Owens has an] ability to take the potentially trite problem-of-the-privileged trope and deftly craft it into readable fun. Publishers Weekly
     
  • [A] rollicking debut novel . . . This hapless protagonist will leave younger readers laughing—and wincing—in recognition. Kirkus Reviews
     
  • Owens offers a millennial take on the traditional British chick-lit heroine. . . . Claire is a realistically awkward character who will appeal to readers looking for a less-angsty take on the new adult trend. Booklist
     
  • A deadpan comic debut for the procrastination generation. The Guardian
     
  • Not Working is as close to the tenderness and funniness and uniqueness of real life as books get. It makes me feel like I did when I found Adrian Mole decades ago—like I know this person on the page or, in a way, am them. It’s really very rare, and very special. David Whitehouse, author of Mobile Library
  • Not Working is absolutely brilliant, insanely funny, but also moving and true. Lisa Owens is one of those writers on whom nothing is lost. Nathan Filer, Costa Award–winning author of The Shock of the Fall
     
  • I loved Lisa Owens’s Not Working, a bright, funny novel of daily life suffused with real melancholy. Marie Phillips, author of Gods Behaving Badly and The Table of Less Valued Knights
  • Lisa Owens is a comedy genius and a serious, skillful, and beautiful writer. Not Working is so clever and original, pithy and poignant, capturing the voice of a bright, lost generation. It’s not often you find a kindred spirit in a book, but I found one here. Emma Jane Unsworth, author of Animals
  • A pin-sharp, utterly addictive debut. Vogue (U.K.)
  • Full of crackling, voice-of-a-generation observations. Glamour (U.K.)
  • Combining the honesty of Bridget Jones with the bang-on social observation of early Sex and the City, this nails it. The Pool
  • A novel as insightful about the contemporary dilemmas facing young professionals as it is sharp, incisive and laugh-out-loud funny . . . such a fresh voice . . . filled with blisteringly acute observations of the mundane thoughts and obsessions that fill the lives of people with too much time on their hands. The Observer
  • “A deadpan comic debut for the procrastination generation.”

    Guardian (London)

  • “Claire Flannery is quite simply the most charming lost soul I’ve ever met. If you’ve ever felt like an impostor in your own life, been driven crazy by your mother, or felt out of step with your friends, Not Working is your next great read.”

    Elisabeth Egan, author of A Window Opens

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations