Extended Audio Sample

Download Not Without Hope Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Not Without Hope Audiobook, by Nick Schuyler Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (636 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Nick Schuyler, Jeré Longman Narrator: Ramón de Ocampo Publisher: HarperCollins Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: March 2010 ISBN: 9780061999413
Regular Price: $18.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Not Without Hope is the true story of the headline-making tragedy that took the lives of three football players: NFL stars Marquis Cooper and Corey Smith, and Will Bleakley from the University of South Florida. Told by the sole survivor of the ill-fated fishing trip, Nick Schuyler, with New York Times bestselling author and sports journalist Jere Longford, Not Without Hope is an inspiring and unforgettable story of courage and strength, friendship and loss, and, most importantly, hope, in the vein of Touching the Void, Into Thin Air, Between a Rock and a Hard Place, and Piers Paul Read’s classic survival tale, Alive.

Download and start listening now!

BK_HARP_002121

Quotes & Awards

  • “A harrowing account of his grim ordeal at sea…a nightmare of exhaustion, madness, and death.”

    Washington Post

  • “Still haunted by the experience and the rumors that followed…Schuyler has written a memoir to set the record straight.”

    People

  • “A harrowing tale…The story [that] made headlines all over the world.”

    New York Post

  • “A compelling account of tragedy at sea.”

    Cleveland Plain Dealer

  • “A profoundly sad struggle.”

    Bloomberg News

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • A Wall Street Journal Bestseller
  • A USA Today Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jen Martel | 2/14/2014

    " Really good book, makes you feel like you know each of the people involved. You really feel for them! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katherine | 2/14/2014

    " Haunting. Unimaginable. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Cindy H. | 2/10/2014

    " This is an account of a horrible, harrowing experience both physically & emotionally. I can't say it is well written, but it is a good story. It is enlightening & thought provoking. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Donald | 2/4/2014

    " I didn't really pay attention to this story when it happened, which helped in reading the book because I had no preconceptions about what actually happened. This book is a good look, from the only survivor of this accident, about what went on and how he survived. It's mostly well-written, though rather obvious in places where the ghostwriter took over. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 CarolAnn | 1/25/2014

    " It was a horrific event for the author Nick Schuyler. I felt for his pain in watching his 3 friends die from hypothermia, weaknesses and the torture of the elements of the sea. However, I got tired of the same comments of how thirsty, hunger and in pain he was in. Yes, I got it after about the 30th time. One could only endure so much of the talk of his groin and butt pain and how physically fit he used to be before the capsizing of the boat. Plus, the writing wasn't even good. I know he isn't a professional author but maybe he should have had one co-author with him. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bridget | 1/11/2014

    " I thought this book was really good but very sad. Some parts of the story was a little hard to catch on to. Overall I thought this was an excellent book. I would recommend this book to people who likes this kind of genre or theme. This book was about a couple friends who goes deep sea fishing and when they go to leave his boat's anchor had gotten caught on something and they try to press the gas to see if the anchor will get free and they can raise it up and go but when they floored the gas the boat flipped. The strong men couldn't unflip the boat it was to hard. The book had some real detail and he talked about it was really sad when Will had died because Will was the one who had helped Nick get food and gatorade! He even swam under the flipped boat and getting supplies for them to survive. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melstrah | 1/7/2014

    " I read this because my son wanted to read it. I'm not sure I want bit in my memory very tragic story "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jo | 1/1/2014

    " This book needed a good, compassionate editor. I don't recall the actual event as reported in the news when it happened but the story itself is a compelling read. The details of the struggle to survive this catastrophe are chilling but there is simply too much repetition. I was very frustrated by the fact that this accident could have been avoided if these guys had been a little better educated before they took the boat out. I also think it highlights something I've tried to warn my children about. Just because you have a cell phone does not mean you are safe. What a desperately sad event for all those involved. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Staci | 12/21/2013

    " Not the best writing in the world, but interesting story. Amazing that he survived. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Wendie | 10/8/2013

    " Incredible and sad story. Truth stranger than fiction! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 T. | 8/18/2013

    " Good story about perserverence and survival, though somewhat repetitive, like they had to reach a certain number of pages. I was hoping it would be something that I could recommend to students, but there is too much inappropriate language. However, it is understandable given the situation. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Dani Butler | 7/22/2013

    " although this book is poorly writen and very repetative, it was a quick read and keep me interested. This book gives details to the tragic boating accident that happen last year involving two NFL players and two other physically fit young men. the book is writen by sole survivor, Nick Schuyler. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Julie | 6/18/2013

    " Couldn't put it down but very depressing and sad. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Avery | 5/2/2013

    " this book from the First Reads giveaway took awhile for me to finish, but I liked it and passed it on to a few friends who are enjoying it now. I don't follow sports much so prior to reading Not Without Hope i had never heard of the characters or in this cast the individuals of this book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dave | 4/20/2013

    " Choppy and repeating sentences, but a good read. Even reading Nick's rememberance of the situation, there is just no way to convey what the guys actually went through out there. Horrific. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lana | 12/10/2012

    " this book made me think about my life and how i react to some things. it put into perspective that the little things really are that...little. who knows why he survived..but he did. there are always things in our life that do not go the way we thing they should go...but learn from it and go on. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jacqui Mitton | 9/12/2012

    " This book is extremely haunting. I am glad that I read it but you will never get it out of your head. I know some question the authenticity of the narrative of the events described during the time on the water. Regardless of how much you believe, this is a story you will never forget. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Faye howard | 3/3/2012

    " I skim read this book and found many parts of it interesting. At times it moved too slow. It was interesting how one man could survive while three died. All four NFL players were in great physical condition, but hypothermia and dehydration took control over will power. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Tammy | 1/15/2012

    " Man vs. Nature. Nature overcomes. A tragic story of what can happen when a lack of experience meets the middle of the ocean. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mason | 5/17/2011

    " This book is about a story to fight and survive. There are three NFL players and a trainer go on last fishing trip before they have to report to training camp. There fishing trip goes wrong and they are afloat on their capsized boat. You must read this to find out how or who survives. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 5/8/2011

    " I read this because I was ready for a quick read after reading some pretty dense books. The story is interesting. But it is written in short sentences using about a 6th grade vocabulary. Pretty redundant sometimes. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 3/25/2011

    " Excellent book about the 4 football players (2 NFL, 2 College) that got stranded in the Gulf of Mexico in 2009. Only one made it out alive, this is his story. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Pat | 2/12/2011

    " A sad, interesting but poorly written book about survival at sea. Illustrates how things can go bad in just a few seconds. I feel for the survivor because it will be difficult to deal with, probably his entire life. Can't really recommend this book, though. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jenny | 1/29/2011

    " While it was an interesting story I found the author to be a bit of a whiner and struggled to relate to his character. It definitely raises questions about how much he helped his friends vs how much they helped or contributed to his survival. Overall, a worthwhile use of time to read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Patricia | 1/19/2011

    " I thought this book was expensive for an ebook but I wanted to read it badly, so I paid the price. I'm not sorry, I really enjoyed this book, if you could say "enjoy" for this type of story. I thought it was well written, and very descriptive. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Liz | 1/14/2011

    " This book broke my heart. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Julie | 1/11/2011

    " Couldn't put it down but very depressing and sad. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tina | 12/10/2010

    " Went on a boat trip with 3 friends, only one who returned, powerful story "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Laurie | 12/7/2010

    " Wow! A great short read and a real page turner. It was well written, heartbreaking, traumatic but yet filled with hope. 5 STARS! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Shelly | 11/22/2010

    " One of the best books I have ever read!!! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Nick Schuyler is a former college football player and a personal trainer in Tampa, Florida.

About the Narrator

Ramón de Ocampo has won nine AudioFile Earphones Awards for his audiobook narrations. A graduate of the Carnegie Mellon School of Drama, he has been seen on television, film, and stages all over the world, including recurring roles on such television shows as The West Wing, 12 Monkeys, Sons of Anarchy, and Medium. He is the winner of a prestigious Obie Award for his stage work.