Extended Audio Sample

Download Nobody Walks Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Nobody Walks Audiobook, by Mick Herron Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Mick Herron Narrator: Gerard Doyle Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Slough House Series Release Date: February 2015 ISBN: 9781490657592
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The death of Tom Bettany’s estranged twenty-six-year-old son brings him back to London. His return sparks the interest of everyone from mobsters to MI5 officers. He may have thought he left his old life as a spy behind, but nobody just walks away.

Tom Bettany is working at a meat-processing plant in France when he gets the voice mail from an Englishwoman he doesn’t know telling him that his estranged son is dead. Liam was smoking dope on his London balcony when he fell. Now for the first time since he cut all ties years ago, Bettany returns home to London to find out the truth about his son’s death.

It may be the guilt he feels about losing touch with his son that’s gnawing at him, or maybe he has actually put his finger on a labyrinthine plot; either way he is going to get to the bottom of the tragedy, no matter whose feathers he has to ruffle. But there are many people who are interested to hear Bettany is back in town, from incarcerated mob bosses to the highest echelons of MI5.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Smart prose, smart plotting.”

    Toronto Star

  • “Smartly written with biting British wit.”

    Fresh Fiction

  • “In this superb thriller, CWA Gold Dagger Award–winner Herron returns to the secretive world of British intelligence featured in his two Slough House novels…Well-drawn characters complement plotting that’s convoluted but never opaque or formulaic. Herron may be the most literate, and slyest, thriller writer in English today.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Herron strips his revenge story to the bone, paring away unnecessary characters, episodes, speeches, and gestures to produce a violent little elegy that grows both more clever and more sour as it hurtles along.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Narrator Gerard Doyle convincingly captures Bethany’s world-weary, cautious outlook in this smartly constructed story…Doyle manages to make Bethany and the other key figures sound simultaneously known and unknowable. The many memorable characters—Bethany himself, the eccentric millionaire game developer who employed Bethany’s son, Dame Ingrid Tearney of ‘The Service,’ and a whole host of others—are so darkly intriguing and fully dimensional that it’s a shame author Mick Herron is calling this a stand-alone novel. These characters and their narrator both deserve an encore.”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Mick Herron was born in Newcastle, England, and has a degree in English from Balliol College, Oxford. He is the author of the Slough House series, as well as a mystery series set in Oxford.

About the Narrator

Gerard Doyle, award-winning narrator, was born of Irish parents and raised and educated in England. In Great Britain he has enjoyed an extensive career in both television and repertory theater and toured nationally and internationally with the English Shakespeare Company. He has appeared in London’s West End in the gritty musical The Hired Man. In America he has appeared on Broadway in The Weir and on television in New York Undercover and Law & Order. A seasoned narrator, he has been awarded dozens of AudioFile Earphones Awards, was named a Best Voice in Young Adult Fiction in 2008, and won the prestigious Audie Award for best narration in 2006 for The Dead Yard by Adrian McKinty.