Extended Audio Sample

Download Naomi and Her Daughters: A Novel Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample Naomi and Her Daughters: A Novel (Unabridged), by Walter Wangerin Jr.
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (79 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Walter Wangerin Jr. Narrator: Walter Wangerin, Jr. Publisher: Zondervan Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: December 2010 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

From master storyteller Walter Wangerin, Jr., comes this familiar biblical saga told in a fresh, transfixing way. You'll feel you've never heard it before! Melding historical accuracy with imaginative detail, Wangerin uses the biblical books of Judges and Ruth to explore themes of love, faith, grief, and community, set against a backdrop of war and political instability.

The widow Naomi grieves the deaths of her two adult sons after the shocking murder of a beloved adopted daughter, while pondering her responsibilities toward her Moabite daughters-in-law. Ancient Israel is in chaos. When her daughter-in-law, Ruth, begs to return to Israel with Naomi, events are set in motion that will change the course of history.

But wait... this isn't the tame, flannel graph story you heard in Sunday School. In the tradition of Anita Diamant's The Red Tent and Elissa Elliott's Eve: A Novel of the First Woman, Wangerin imbues his tale with strong female characters and an earthy realism that gives the timeless Old Testament narrative so much power. You'll find echoes of contemporary issues throughout: deceit, heartbreak, loss, war, and, of course, the power of love. Naomi's combined strength and tenderness becomes the pivot upon which a nation turns; her decisions ultimately lead to the founding of the family lineage of Jesus Christ. Breathtaking descriptions, shocking violence, and inspirational courage make this spellbinding novel by a beloved award-winning author a story you won't soon forget. It's the perfect novel for your book group, and a satisfying listen for those who love thoughtful biblical fiction.

Download and start listening now!

BK_ZOND_000891

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Drgiv | 9/13/2013

    " I have read many of Wangerin's novels and this is one of his best. He really captures the time of the judges from the old testament, and brings it to life through the lives of Naomi and Ruth. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Naomi | 4/4/2013

    " This book was written entirely different than I expected. I just couldn't get into it. I felt there would be more of the human story that occured but it wasn't there. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Helen L. | 2/11/2013

    " I had hoped to like it more. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sandy VanderRoest | 12/7/2012

    " be sure to know if the chapter is past, present... I am re-reading....this time more slowly so as not to miss, and gain a greater appreciation of, the beautiful word pictures...and occasional humor. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Maribeth | 5/12/2012

    " Written in an older style it was a little harder to get into but once I got used to it...I loved it. Great retelling of the book of judges and so beautiful. I read this book after Pearl in the Sand and realized that this is the successive story to Rahab. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rhonda | 10/13/2011

    " Author's embellished story of the Book of Ruth in the Old Testament. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 April Hochstrasser | 8/17/2011

    " I thought I would be reading a story about actual people, instead the characters just weave in and out and the thread of the story is really lost and never found. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mar | 4/5/2011

    " it is a fictionalised account of naomi and ruth. kind of intersting to explore those possibilities. don't know that it would appeal much to those unfamiliar with the story. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Sheila | 3/18/2011

    " DNF (did not finish) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Helen | 3/14/2011

    " I had hoped to like it more. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Drgiv | 2/20/2011

    " I have read many of Wangerin's novels and this is one of his best. He really captures the time of the judges from the old testament, and brings it to life through the lives of Naomi and Ruth. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Rhonda | 12/17/2010

    " Author's embellished story of the Book of Ruth in the Old Testament. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Naomi | 11/23/2010

    " This book was written entirely different than I expected. I just couldn't get into it. I felt there would be more of the human story that occured but it wasn't there. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations