Extended Audio Sample

Download My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample My Heart Is an Idiot: Essays, by Davy Rothbart Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (570 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Davy Rothbart Narrator: Davy Rothbart Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $23.99 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Davy Rothbart is looking for love in all the wrong places. Constantly. He falls helplessly in love with pretty much every girl he meets—and rarely is the feeling reciprocated. Time after time, he hops in a car and tears across half of America with his heart on his sleeve. He’s continually coming up with outrageous schemes, which he always manages to pull off. Well, almost always. But even when things don’t work out, Rothbart finds meaning and humor in every moment. Whether it’s humiliating a scammer who takes money from aspiring writers or playing harmless (but side-splitting) goofs on his deaf mother, nothing and no one is off-limits.

But as much as Rothbart is a tragically lovable, irresistibly brokenhearted hero, it’s his prose that’s the star of the book. In the tradition of David Sedaris and Sloane Crosley but going places very much his own, his essays show how things that are seemingly so wrong can be so, so right.

Download and start listening now!

BK_AREN_001495

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Lil | 2/16/2014

    " I listened to this on audio and it was read by the author, which I think increased my enjoyment of this book. Some of the essays were very entertaining, thoughtful and sweet. I was ready for it to be over when it was done. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Tanya Emmert | 2/10/2014

    " I went to "How to Write Like I Do" session at Seattle 826. Going to the session really got me sparked writing again, and I truly enjoyed reading this book. Davy has a knack for coming at things sideways, being self effacing and catching the reader off guard. While the essays exist in each in their own complete package, I love how many of them left me wondering "and then what happened?" "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Tiffany | 2/9/2014

    " I've missed you Davy. I'm glad we got to catch up. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Laurel | 1/29/2014

    " I laughed and I cried. Really. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations